The draw for the 1st round of the Bank of Ireland Provincial Towns Cup took place on Sunday afternoon at the home of the holders, Wicklow Rugby Club, after their home fixture against Tullow in Division 1B of the Leinster League.

Frank Doherty, President of the Leinster Branch, welcomed everybody to the draw and spoke about the intensity and effort that all players and clubs put into trying to win the Towns Cup.

Frank Doherty Leinster Rugby

Andrew Owen, Bank of Ireland Branch Manager in Wexford, said Bank of Ireland is delighted to be involved in the Domestic game and highlighted the involvement of many bank personnel in rugby clubs throughout the province.

Leinster players Josh van der Flier and Tadhg Furlong, fresh from their November heroics with Ireland, were on hand to draw the teams for the first round draw.

Van der Flier was back on home turf having grown up playing his rugby with Wicklow RFC. Ahead of the draw van der Flier took to Twitter, saying, “The Towns Cup looking right at home (in Wicklow RFC), hopefully she’s back at the end of the year!”

The 1st round draw in full is:

Mullingar v Gorey
Co Carlow v Dundalk
Portarlington v Portlaoise
Tullow v Newbridge
Longford v Tullamore 2nd XV
Midland Warriors v North Kildare
Boyne 2nd XV v Arklow
New Ross v Athy
Kilkenny v Wicklow
Edenderry v Clondalkin
Skerries 2nd XV v Roscrea
Wexford Wanderers v Naas 2nd XV

Byes to the 2nd round:

Navan 2nd XV
Cill Dara

1st round ties will be played on Sunday 29th January at 2:30 pm and the draw for the 2nd round will take place at one of the home venues that same evening.