The sold out signs were out last Saturday night at The Stratton Hall in Kirwan Park as a very large crowd turned up for the 2013 De La Salle Palmerston Players Dinner…

Special guest for the night was the Amlin Challenge Cup, that Leinster Rugby had very kindly allowed to attend on the night.

The annual event is hugely popular with the players, in advance of which they are all asked to reflect on the season and vote for their teams player’s player.

Also on the night the prestigious Ron ‘The boot’ Buckley award is presented (which is in memory of Palmerston and Salmo Legend the late Ron Buckley). This award is presented to a player in recognition of giving back something off the pitch to the club.This year also saw the introduction of a new annual award for the De La Salle Palmerston, Young Player of the Year Award.

Director of Rugby Conor Mccormick spoke on the night and wished the new first team coaching team of Phil debarra and Vic Ball all the best for the new season, with all the awards being presented to the winners by outgoing club President Karl Burke. Special thanks to Bar Manager Gerry Doyle and his team for the Excellent Meal.

And the winners were:

Ron ‘The Boot’ Buckley Award: Michael Jones 1st XV Karl Moran
U-19 Ronan Costelloe
J1 Declan O’Neill
J3 Johnny Moran
J4 Owen O’Leary
J5 Aidan Ivers
Young Player of the year: Scott Finlay
Outstanding Service to DLSP as a player: David Kelliher