Concussion Management

In order to attain a coaching qualification, you must complete the World Rugby Concussion Management course. This is a free online module that can be completed before or up to two weeks after you attend a coaching course at any level in order to attain accreditation.

Level 1 Course

This stage of coaching is made up of a category of age-grade players from U16-U18’s and adult junior players. Players are highly competitive at this stage and have greater awareness of common values, goals and team spirit. During this stage, the coach aims to challenge the capacities of players and strives for players to have higher standards of performance. The game evolves during this stage as the performance of individual players, units and the team as a whole is challenged via structured methods with emphasis placed more so on maximising development in the pursuit of achieving desired outcomes and results.

No Level 1 courses are available currently.

NOTE: Entry criteria for Level 1 Coaching Course

• Participants must be 18yrs of age.
• Participants must have proven rugby playing/coaching experience
• Actively coaching a 15-a-side team (Stage 3 LTPD)

Click here to pay online

Download form

Foundation Course

The age-grade of players in this category is from U13-U15’s. During this stage of coaching, players learn to explore through the game. Coaches teach rather than guide during this level as players at this age-grade is more appropriate for excelled learning. Whilst the game is still fun and safe at this stage, it moves from open play to a more structured format to introduce basic units of play.

There are currently no Foundation Courses available.

Mini Course

The age-grade of players in this category is from U6-U12’s. The medium of play is at the forefront of this age group whereby fun and enjoyment in a positive environment to encourage a motivating experience if the predominant aim. Coaches are thought to act as guides and corrections should be subtle and simple rather than detailed. Focus of the game is mainly based on general movement with player participating in an enjoyable and rewarding experience.

Introduction to Mini Coaching

Venue: Terenure College RFC
Details: Saturday, 25th March (9.30am-5.00pm)
Cost: €70 per coach
Enquiries to: aoife.thompson@leinsterrugby.ie

Download form

Note: Online booking facility now available below.

How do I book a course?

To book online:

To book a coaching courses online, you must click on Easy Payments Plus button below and click ‘coaching’ in the first drop down.

Please note that there will be an additional €5 processing fee to pay online for all debit cards. Credit cards will be charged at a higher rate.

Note: Club/ Schools can book as many people on a course by clicking ‘add person’ throughout the booking process.

Click here to pay online

Click here to download an application form for any Level 1 course.

Click here to download an application form for any Foundation or Mini course.

All application forms should be sent to:

Sheila Cullivan
Leinster Rugby
Newstead Building A
UCD
Belfield
Dublin 4
Ireland

All queries to sheila.cullivan@leinsterrugby.ie

Coach Development Officer Contacts

Coach Development Manager
Derek Maybury
derek.maybury@leinsterrugby.ie
086-8254774

Metro Area
Dan Van Zyl
dan.vanzyl@leinsterrugby.ie
086-8253066

Midlands Area
Damien McCabe
damien.mccabe@leinsterrugby.ie
086-8254774

North Midlands Area
John Bagnall
john.bagnall@leinsterrugby.ie
087-1306791

North East Area
Colin O’Hare
colin.ohare@leinsterrugby.ie
086-8672709

South East Area
Declan O’Brien
declan.obrien@leinsterrugby.ie
086-1735600

Community Rugby Officer Contacts

Midlands
Steve Coy
steve.coy@leinsterrugby.ie
086-8599774

North Midlands
Tom McKeown
tom.mckeown@leinsterrugby.ie
087-9705671

North East
Colm Finnegan
colm.finnegan@leinsterrugby.ie
087-7692257

South East
Stephen Gore
stephen.gore@leinsterrugby.ie
086-6087943

Fingal
Stephen Costello
Stephen.costello@leinsterrugby.ie
087-9844168

Dublin City
Billy Phelan
billy.phelan@leinsterrugby.ie
086-8688314

Aoife Thompson
aoife.thompson@leinsterrugby.ie
085-1302745

Stephen Maher
stephen.maher@leinsterrugby.ie
086-1994569

Ken Knaggs
ken.knaggs@leinsterrugby.ie
085-8285730

South Dublin
Ken Moore
ken.moore@leinsterrugby.ie
087-2832989

Damien McCabe
damien.mccabe@leinsterrugby.ie
087-2273898

DunLaoighre/Rathdown
Adam Griggs
adam.griggs@leinsterrugby.ie
085-1563332