The Ireland Under-20 team (sponsored by PwC) has been named to face Italy in their final game of the 6 Nations tournament (KO: 6pm Irish time) has been named and includes 5 Leinster players in the starting line up and a further 6 on the bench…

Mike Ruddock has made a number of changes to the side that overcame France in their last outing.

Darragh Leader comes in at full back replacing Stuart Olding who has been called to provincial duty with Darren Sweetnam named on the right wing.

Ryan Furness and John Andrew make their first start of the tournament to partner Peter Dooley.

Andrew makes his first start of the tournament being named in the front row in place of George McGuigan who is recovering from a knock he picked up during their last outing, against France. Ryan Furness comes in instead of Chris Taylor.

Sean McCarthy comes into the side in place of Gavin Thornbury to partner John Donnan in the second row.

Speaking ahead of the game, Ruddock said: Despite the fact that we are missing a few front liners due to injury and unavailability we have still been able to select a strong side.

“We are looking forward to a very physical encounter against the Italian side. We are obviously looking to build on our win from last week to take us through into the IRB Junior World Championship.

“We have added some new combinations to the bench as we look towards the summer.”


15: Darragh Leader (Galwegians/Connacht)
14: Darren Sweetnam (UCC/Munster)
13: Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12: Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
11: Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10: Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9: Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) CAPTAIN

1: Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2: John Andrew (Ballymena/Ulster)
3: Ryan Furniss (Worcester/Exile)
4: Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster)
5: John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6: Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster)
7: Josh Van Der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
8: Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster)


16: Bryan Byrne (UCD/ Leinster)
17: Adam Boland (Lansdowne/Leinster)

18: Brian Scott (UCC/Munster)
19: Jerry Sexton (St. Mary’s College/ Leinster)
20: Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
21: David Shanahan (Clontarf/Leinster)
22: Eogháin Quinn (Lansdowne/ Leinster)

23: David Panther (Corinthians/Connacht)