The Ireland team to face Australia in Saturday’s second game of the Guinness Series in the Aviva Stadium has been named and includes nine Leinster players in the starting XV and a further five named on the bench…

Paul O’Connell will lead Ireland against Australia in the Aviva Stadium this Saturday as the new Irish captain starts in the second row.

O’Connell is joined in the engine room by Devin Toner with Cian Healy introduced to the front row. Sean O’Brien starts at openside in the absence of the injured Chris Henry.

Brian O’Driscoll earns his 127th cap since his Test debut against Australia in 1999 and will be partnered in midfield by Luke Marshall. Jonathan Sexton returns to the out-half berth and is reunited with his former provincial half-back partner Eoin Reddan.

There are 10 2013 British and Irish Lions involved in the match day squad: Rob Kearney, Tommy Bowe, Brian O’Driscoll, Jonathan Sexton, Conor Murray, Jamie Heaslip, Sean O’Brien, Paul O’Connell, Rory Best and Cian Healy.  

Eleven of the Ireland XV started in the RWC 2011 victory over Australia in Eden Park, New Zealand.


15: Rob Kearney (Leinster)
14: Tommy Bowe (Ulster)
13: Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster)
12: Luke Marshall (Ulster)
11: Fergus McFadden (Leinster)
10: Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)
9: Eoin Reddan (Leinster)

1: Cian Healy (Leinster)
2: Rory Best (Ulster)
3: Mike Ross (Leinster)
4: Paul O’Connell (Munster) CAPTAIN
5: Devin Toner (Leinster)

6: Peter O’Mahony (Munster)
7: Sean O’Brien (Leinster)
8: Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)


16: Sean Cronin (Leinster)
17: Jack McGrath (Leinster)

18: Stephen Archer (Munster)
19: Mike McCarthy (Leinster)
20: Kevin McLaughlin (Leinster)

21: Conor Murray (Munster)
22: Ian Madigan (Leinster)
23: Robbie Henshaw (Connacht)