Leinster’s Fergus McFadden scored a memorable hat-trick as Ireland finished their summer tour on a high with a fine 40-14 victory over Canada at the BMO Field in Toronto on Saturday night…

Ireland also had tries from Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble and Tommy O’Donnell.

In front of a crowd of 20,396 – a record for rugby in Canada – the hosts put the first points on the board with James Pritchard’s penalty six minutes into the contest.

Ireland responded quickly, with Leinster out-half Ian Madigan launching the move that ended with a try by Trimble and Madigan adding the conversion.

Pritchard converted two penalties, putting the hosts back in front and overtaking former Canada international Gareth Rees as the country’s all-time leading scorer.

A try from McFadden put Ireland back in front at the break, and, after Tyler Ardron drove over to score a try for Canada early in the second half, things unraveled for Canada as Ireland scored 28 unanswered points.


15: Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 4
14: Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 18
13: Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 4
12: James Downey (Dolphin/Munster)*
11: Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 49
10: Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) 3
9: Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster) 16

1: Tom Court (Malone/Ulster) 31
2: Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster) 3
3: Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 30

4: Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster) 6
5: Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 6
6: Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 5

7: Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 1
8: Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 15 CAPTAIN


16: Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 26
17: David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 7
18: Declan Fitzpatrick (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 4
19: Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht) 11
20: Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 7
21: Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 2
22: Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 3
23: Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) 1