Joe Schmidt has this morning announced the final Irish squad to prepare for rounds five and six of this season’s 6 Nations championship.

In total there are 20 Leinster players in the panel of 36 with 14 forwards and six backs and included for the first time is Wexford man Tadhg Furlong.

Tight head prop Furlong has been involved in 21 of the 23 Leinster games this season in what is only his first year out of the Academy. He has started seven games and made 14 appearances from the bench, scoring three tries in the process including one in the Champions Cup game against Castres in the RDS in January. 

Another prop, Cian Healy, is in line to win his 50th Irish cap should he be selected in either of the two remaining rounds.  

Forwards (20)
Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)                          
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Mike McCarthy (Leinster)
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dan Touhy (Ulster)
Backs (16)
Isaac Boss (Terenure/Leinster)                                                 
Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)
David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Jared Payne (Ulster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)
Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)