St Andrew’s College 0 Blackrock College 43

Blackrock College are into the second round of the Bank of Ireland Leinster Rugby Schools Junior Cup after beating St Andrew’s College at Energia Park.

The 2019 beaten finalists have a seven minute spell either side of half-time to thank for their victory as, until that point, it was much tighter than the scoreline would suggest.

They notched 21 points across that period and put themselves on the way to victory.

The opening exchanges were dominated by Blackrock who moved the ball freely between both the pack and the back line until it was Mikey Yarr who burrowed over from close range.

Andrew’s responded by getting their hands on the ball but without truly threatening the ‘Rock defence, a knock-on eventually bringing an end to their good spell.

The final few minutes of the half brought a flourish from ‘Rock as they clocked on a 14 points, a half-time score of 17-0 not telling the story of the game.

First, Federico Mei managed to clamber over the line under pressure before winger David Doyle burst clear on the outside and had the legs to get back in underneath the posts, giving Oliver Coffey a much simpler conversion.

No 8 Tom Brigg made it a third try in quick succession immediately after the restart for the second half.

As the game entered the final quarter, replacement front row Sean McKechnie scrambled over for Blackrock’s fifth try, Coffey adding to it with a fourth conversion.

James O’Sullivan and Jack Angulo also got in on the act late on for an impressive Blackrock outfit.

Scorers – Blackrock College: M Yarr, F Mei, D Doyle, T Brigg, S McKechnie, J O’Sullivan, J Angulo try each, O Coffey four cons.

St Andrew’s College: Conn Doherty; Harry McChesney (Ben Hamilton 58), Franzis Manzocchi, Wilhelm de Klerk, Ethan Carthy (Thomas Tweedy 50); Joe Balance, Karl Deegan (capt) (Elliott Reidy 54); Charles Lydon (Ryan Browne 58), Matthew Thompson (Karl Moran 58), Jude McCrea; Charlie Beck, Joshua Molyneux; Rocco Hill (James O’Donoghue 50), Joshua Perrem (Adam O’Toole 52), Adam Tobin.

Blackrock College: Eoghan Walsh; David Doyle, Luke Kritzinger, Federico Mei (Andrew Quinn 58), James O’Sullivan; Harry Whelan (Daniel Bennett 12-22, 45), Oliver Coffey (Jack Larkin 58); Alex Mullan, Mikey Yarr (Conall Hodges 37), Maxime le Bail (Sean McKechnie 37); Tom O’Riordan (David Crowley 58), Michael Colreavey (Thomas Byrnes 50); Greg Barron (capt), Theo Byrnes (Jack Angulo 50), Tom Brigg.

Referee: Kenneth McDonald