Leinster Rugby wish to sincerely thank the Government for their support and in acknowledging the important role that sport plays in our lives and in our communities.

In total, 39 Leinster Rugby clubs received grants for approved capital projects while a further 11 clubs received equipment grants.

When all the grants are combined, the 50 Leinster Rugby clubs received €3,433,500 in funds which will benefit the clubs but also the communities in which they are based.

Speaking to leinsterrugby.ie, Leinster Rugby President John Walsh said, “The importance that sport plays in our lives and our communities has been recognised by Government and on behalf of Leinster Rugby I wish to take the opportunity to acknowledge and thank them for their support.

“In addition to the Covid Support Grants of €85m that were allocated to 42 national sporting organisations, the recent Government announcement regarding the allocation of €150m under the Sports Capital Programme has been a huge boost to morale as we emerge from over 20 months of necessary restrictions as a result of the pandemic.

“A total of 39 Leinster Rugby clubs have received funding amounting to €3.3m of which 16 clubs received funding in excess of €100,000 for their projects and six Leinster clubs receiving the maximum grant of €150,000.

“The total number of Leinster clubs who have received grants under both the equipment only and the sport capital element is 50 clubs for a total amount of €3,433,500.

“A total of €56m has been allocated to the 12-county province of Leinster for various sports and no matter what sport you follow this is a most welcomed development for our communities.

“So on behalf of our Leinster Rugby clubs, their dedicated committees and volunteers we acknowledge the support and in particular to the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, Catherine Martin, the Minister of State for the Gaeltacht and Sport, Jack Chambers, and the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Michael McGrath, we say, a heartfelt thanks.”

The 39 Leinster Rugby clubs who have received capital grants are as follows:

Co Carlow, Tullow, Balbriggan, Clondalkin, Clontarf, Coolmine, Lansdowne, Malahide, Monkstown, Old Belvedere, Old Wesley, Skerries, Seapoint, Stillorgan-Rathfarnham, Suttonians, Terenure, Barnhall, Clane, Cill Dara, Edenderry, Naas, North Kildare, Kilkenny, Portarlington, Ardee, Ashbourne, Navan, North Meath, Ratoath, Birr, Tullamore, Midland Warriors, Mullingar, Enniscorthy, Gorey, New Ross, Wexford, Arklow and Rathdrum.

The following 11 Leinster clubs received equipment grants:

Athboy, Athy, Carlingford Knights, Dublin Dogos, Emerald Warriors, Garda, Guinness, Longford, Newbridge, Parkmore and Wicklow.