At the pre-match lunch before the AIL match v Connemara on Saturday Eddie Fogarty, President hosted the undefeated J2 XV, captained by Paul Marshall, which won both the J2 League and the Albert O’Connell Cup 20 years ago…

Eddie also hosted the the J5 XV, captained by Dr. Philip McGovern, which won the O’Connor Cup for the first and to date only time in the club’s history, in the same season by beating a strong St. Mary’s team in the final.

Season 1988/89 also saw Old Wesley win both the Leinster and All Ireland Floodlit Cups under the captaincy of Niall Farren and this will be suitably celebrated before the end of the season.

The current Club Chairman Peter Polden was President in that great season 20 years ago. Finally 2009 is the 100th anniversary of the club winning the Leinster Senior Cup for the first time.