The Athy rugby club minis section has had a knock-on effect on the school.

Joe Carbery Senior coaches the Junior and Senior Cup teams in Ardscoil na Trionoide and the former have made it through to the final where they will meet Colaiste Chill Mhantain at Donnybrook on Tuesday afternoon.

Sadly, Ryan Foley will be missing from the action as the talented centre is in America.

The potent midfield partnership with Aaron Rowan has been central to their penetration out the back.

Out-half Ben Purcell is another key piece of the puzzle they pose with his skill set.

CCM have been playing Development Junior Cup level for the last six years, never venturing past the second round.

They have a talisman in number eight Cormac Fenton, their main source of go-forward.

They are not without stardust in the centre either with Jamie Noble and Daniel Rooney giving them punch in attack and defence.

The Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Junior Development Cup Final will take place tomorrow in Donnybrook Stadium, KO 2pm.


Paths to the final:

First Round: CCM beat Ratoath College 37-14; Ardscoil beat St Kevin’s, Dunlavin 43-24.

Second round: CCM beat Moyne CS 51-22; Ardscoil beat Holy Family, Rathcoole 43-7.

Quarter-final: CCM beat St Mel’s Longford 36-18; Ardscoil beat De La Salle, Bagnelstown 12-5.

 Semi-final: CCM beat Coaliste Cois Life 35-29; Ardscoil beat Boyne CS 27-24.



  1. Hal Fitzgerald
  2. Cillian Hogab
  3. Aaron Canterbury
  4. Josh Griffin
  5. Andrew Murray
  6. Oisin Timmons
  7. Sean Coffey
  8. Charlie Cruise
  9. Fionn Luddy
  10. Malachy Stone
  11. Caolon Mooney
  12. Jamie Noble
  13. Daniel Rooney
  14. David Tyrell Browne
  15. Aaron Byrne.


  1. Jack Fox
  2. Michael Traynor
  3. Daniel Murphy
  4. Thomas O’Neill
  5. Padraig Cahill
  6. Dylan Smyth
  7. Cormac Fenton
  8. Jack O’Neill



  1. Dawid Pionk
  2. Niall Doyle
  3. Conor Black
  4. Edward Owens
  5. Mark Doyle
  6. Liam Lynch
  7. Danny Loughman
  8. Gearoid Considine
  9. Caoilte Kelly
  10. Ben Purcell
  11. Gearoid Lynch
  12. Aaron Rowan (capt)
  13. Peter Doyle
  14. Thomas Keane
  15. Padraig Hughes


  1. Leo Harris
  2. Sean Moore
  3. Jack Howard
  4. Bryan Fleming
  5. Luke Gleeson
  6. Eoin Cahill
  7. Scott Downey
  8. David Ibitoye