Athy RFC will play host to the finals of the Celtic Horizon Tours sponsored Hosie and Lalor Cup competitions this Saturday afternoon in what promises to be a great showcase of Leinster Rugby…


The 44th HOSIE CUP FINAL (J1) between Portlaoise and Newbridge takes place at Athy Rugby Club, The Show Grounds, Athy, on Saturday 2nd January (KO: 1.30pm).

This will see a repeat of the 1997 final between these sides. On that occasion Newbridge emerged as victors on what was their first and only appearance in Hosie final to date.

However, Newbridge’s links to the trophy are strong as the club was formed from the merger in 1996 of The Curragh and Old Kilcullen.

The Curragh recorded eight Hosie Cup wins, which commenced with winning the inaugural final in 1967 with their final victory coming in 1994. Newbridge are tops of Leinster League Division 1B with 32 points and an impressive seven wins and one draw from nine League games and scoring 20 tries in the competition.

Portlaoise have won eight Hosie Cups and will be attempting to close in on the record of 10 wins held by Naas. Portlaoise won the 2008 final to add to previous wins in 2003, 1996, 1991, 1990, 1989, 1983 and 1977. Portlaoise are competing in Leinster League Division 1A and are currently last of eight teams with 2 wins from 9 league games and scoring 11 tries.


Meanwhile, the 32nd LALOR CUP FINAL (J2) at Athy RFC in the second game of the double-header (KO: 1.30pm) will see Clondalkin (established in 1973) appear in their first final and take on the holders Portlaoise.

To date Portlaoise have appeared in eight finals for wins in 2009, 1988 and 1987. Portarlington hold the record for Lalor Cup wins with a total of eight victories.

Portlaoise J2’s have won three of their nine Leinster League fixtures while Clondalkin’s J2’s are currently 2nd in their Leinster League section with seven wins from nine games.