Holders Tullow made it through to the 2nd Round of the 2018 Bank of Ireland Provincial Towns Cup after a hard-fought win over Naas RFC in Kildare. Their reward is a home tie against Wexford Wanderers who were convincing winners over Balbriggan in the opening round.

Enniscorthy, Towns Cup champions in 2015, got past Midland Warriors at Mullingar RFC. They go on to face Longford, one of three clubs to receive a 1st Round bye.

The 2016 Towns Cup champions, Wicklow, recorded a big win over Mullingar. They will face the winner of the postponed tie between Dundalk and North Kildare in the 2nd Round.

New Ross, Gorey, Clondalkin and Cill Dara all booked their place in the 2nd Round draw with home wins.

See the full list of results, postponed games, and the all-important 2nd Round draw below.

Bank of Ireland Provincial Towns Cup – 1st Round results

Midland Warriors 15 Enniscorthy 48
New Ross 24 Arklow 10
Wicklow 53 Mullingar RFC 0
Wexford Wanderers 36 Balbriggan 8
Naas 6 Tullow 11
Gorey 18 Co Carlow 3
Clondalkin 25 Edenderry 6
Cill Dara 50 Roscrea 0

The following 1st Round fixtures were postponed and will be played at a later date:

Tullamore v Athy
Skerries v Newbridge Rugby
Kilkenny v Boyne
Dundalk v North Kildare
Portlaoise v Navan

Bank of Ireland Provincial Towns Cup – 2nd Round draw

Wicklow v Dundalk or North Kidlare
Ashbourne v Kilkenny or Boyne
Portlaoise or Navan v Skerries or Newbridge
Cill Dara v Portarlington
Gorey v Tullamore or Athy
Enniscorthy v Longford
Clondalkin v New Ross
Tullow v Wexford Wanderers