The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Carmarthen Quins in the third game in Pool 5 of this season’s British and Irish Cup has been announced. The ‘A’ team play Quins tomorrow at 2.30pm in The Park.

Head coach Girvan Dempsey has made a number of changes to the starting team that accounted for Jersey last weekend in Donnybrook with recent signing Ben Te’o included for the first time in a Leinster jersey. In total there are seven changes with four in the backs and a further three in the pack, plus a number of positional changes. 

WIth Billy Dardis starting at full back, Cian Kelleher moves to the left wing and Adam Byrne starting from the bench. Sam Coghlan-Murray retains his place on the right wing. Steve Crosbie captains the side from inside centre with Ben Te’o outside him at 13. 

It’s a new half back combination with Nick McCarthy and Cathal Marsh starting at No. 9 and 10 respectively having come off the bench in the win over Jersey. 

In the pack Aaron Dundon is selected from the start at hooker this weekend having recovered fully from his hamstring injury with Peter Dooley and Oisín Heffernan either side of him. Gavin Thornbury starts again at lock with Ben Marshall his second row companion for the trip to Wales.

Finally, there is one change in the back row with Peadar Timmins starting at blindside flanker and Josh van der Flier at openside and the versatile Jordon Coghlan at No. 8. 

There is also a welcome return from injury for Dan Leavy who is named in the replacements. Leavy injured his knee playing for the Senior team in the pre-season friendly against Ulster at the Tallaght Stadium. 

For updates from the game please follow the Leinster Rugby twitter account on and use the hashtag #COTAT (Come on the A Team!) 


15: Billy Dardis
14: Sam Coghlan-Murray
13: Ben Te’o
12: Steve Crosbie CAPTAIN
11: Cian Kelleher
10: Cathal Marsh
9: Nick Mc Carthy
1: Peter Dooley
2: Aaron Dundon
3: Oisín Heffernan
4: Gavin Thornbury
5: Ben Marshall
6: Peadar Timmins
7: Josh Van Der Flier
8: Jordan Coghlan
16: James Tracy
17: Jeremy Loughman
18: Ross Molony
19: Daniel Leavy
20: Adam Griggs
21: Ross Byrne
22: Adam Byrne