Isaac Boss has been named in the Waikato team to defend the Ranfurly Shield against Thames Valley at the Paeroa Domain on Monday, 6th June.

Boss last appeared for Waikato 11 years ago and will start the match on the bench.

“The inclusion on the bench of former Irish international and 52 cap Waikato stalwart Isaac Boss is a feature of the squad,” the announcement on the Waikato Rugby Union website said,”with the 36 year old returning to New Zealand this week to play for Waikato in 2016 after finishing up a 10 year career in the Northern Hemisphere.”

Boss was honoured at the Leinster Rugby Awards Ball last month for his contribution over the last six seasons, in which time he won two PRO12 titles, two Heineken Cups and a Challenge Cup with the province.

Speaking at the Awards Ball, Boss said: “Being a part of Leinster has probably enabled me to achieve all of my goals that I’ve had in rugby. I’m grateful for all the opportunities it’s given me. I loved every minute of it. It’s always tough when you leave it behind.”

1. Latu Talakai (20) Fraser Tech
2. Hame Faiva (21) University
3. Atu Moli (6) University
4. Jacob Skeen (14) University
5. Sam Kilgour (19) Hautapu
6. Jake Ale (*) Melville
7. Adam Burn [captain] (26) Hamilton Old Boys
8. Whetu Douglas (23) University
9. Harrison Levien (4) Hamilton Marist
10. Jason Robertson (*) University
11. Sevu Reece (*) Melville
12. Tevita Taufui (*) Melville
13. Glen Robertson (4) Fraser Tech
14. Iliesa Ratuva Tavuyara (*) Hamilton Old Boys
15. Josh Gascoigne (*) Hautapu

16. Samisoni Taukei’aho (*) Fraser Tech
17. Tau Koloamatangi (5) University
18. Duke Nginingini (*) Hamilton Old Boys
19. Sam Caird (*) Hautapu
20. Murray Iti (6) Otorohanga
21. Isaac Boss (52) Southern United
22. Matty Lansdown (*) Fraser Tech
23. Tyler Campbell (*) University

()= Caps for Waikato
* indicates a debut