Head Coach Noel McNamara has named the Ireland U20 squad for the World Rugby U20 Championships in France.

The tournament takes place from the 30th May-17th June, with Ireland playing their Pool games in Perpignan and Narbonne, while the finals will take place in Stade De La Mediterranee in Béziers.

Ireland share Pool C with France, Georgia and South Africa and will face the hosts on the opening day of the tournament in Perpignan.

The 28-man squad will be captained by Leinster Academy player and St Mary’s College RFC’s Caelan Doris.

Doris, along with fellow forwards Diarmuid Barron and Jordan Duggan and backs Conor Dean and Michael Silvester are all set to feature at their second U20 World Championships, having been involved in Georgia last summer.

Prop Joe Byrne, hooker Dan Sheehan, wings Dan Hurley and Tom Roche and centre Peter Sylvester are all in line for their first U20 caps in France.

On confirmation of the squad, McNamara said:

“It’s an exciting time for the players and management as we prepare to head to the south of France for the U20 World Championships.

“There’s a lot of talent in this squad and the players are all preparing well.

“We’re up against three physical sides in our pool, and with France up first, it will be a great test for the players on the opening day of the tournament and something that everyone is looking forward to.”

Ireland U20 Squad – World Rugby U20 Championship 2018


Matthew Agnew (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen FC/Munster)
Joe Byrne (Dublin University/Leinster) *
Matthew Dalton (Malone RFC/Ulster)
Cormac Daly (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster) CAPTAIN
Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster)
Jack Dunne (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Joe Dunleavy (Malone RFC/Ulster)
James French (UCC/Munster)
Aaron Hall (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
Tom O’Toole (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
Jack O’Sullivan (UCC RFC/Munster)
Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Dan Sheehan (Dublin University FC/Leinster) *


Harry Byrne (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Conor Dean (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
Dan Hurley (Garryowen FC/Munster) *
James Hume (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Tom Roche (Lansdowne FC/Leinster) *
Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Jonny Stewart (QUB RFC/Ulster)
Peter Sylvester (UCC RFC / Munster)
Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC/Leinster)
James McCarthy (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

*Denotes uncapped at this level

Unavailable due to injury:

Eoghan Clarke
Angus Curtis
Ronan Kelleher
Sean Masterson
Peter Sullivan

Ireland U20 World Rugby U20 Championship Fixtures
Pool C:

France v Ireland
Stade Aimé-Giral, Perpignan
Wednesday, 30th May, 2018
KO: 21:00 (local) / 20:00 (Irish)

South Africa v Ireland
Stade d’Honneur du Parc des Sports et de l’Amitie, Narbonne
Sunday, 3rd June, 2018
KO: 16:30 (local) / 15:30 (Irish)

Ireland v Georgia
Stade d’Honneur du Parc des Sports et de l’Amitie, Narbonne
Thursday, 7th June, 2018
KO: 18:30 (local) / 17:30 (Irish)

Stade d’Honneur du Parc des Sports et de l’Amitie, Narbonne OR Stade Aime-Giral, Perpignan
Tuesday, 12th June 2018

Finals Day
Stade De La Mediterranee in Béziers.
Sunday, 17th June 2018