The draw for the 2020/21 Heineken Champions Cup pools will be revealed tomorrow (Wednesday, 28 October) at 3pm Irish time.

The 24 clubs which have qualified will be drawn into two pools of 12 – Pool A and Pool B.

For the draw, the clubs are seeded into four tiers based on their performance in their respective leagues (Club 1 and 2 from each league in Tier 1 etc).

The drawn pools will consist of four clubs from each league, one from each tier. However, clubs will not play against teams from the same league during the pool stage.

The Tier 1 and Tier 4 clubs which have been drawn in the same pool, but not from the same league, will play one another home and away over four Pool stage rounds. The same will apply for Tiers 2 and 3 who will face each other.

Click HERE for an explainer video of the 2020/21 Heineken Champions Cup format.

As the number one ranked team from the Guinness PRO14, Leinster Rugby will be placed in Tier 1 along with five other teams – Exeter Chiefs, Wasps, Ulster Rugby, Bordeaux-Begles and Lyon.

Regardless of the other nine teams drawn into their Pool, Leinster will only face the Tier 4 Premiership and Top 14 representatives in the Pool stage.

One of Gloucester Rugby and Northampton Saints from the Premiership will be drawn from Tier 4, as well as Toulouse or Montpellier from France.

The order of fixtures and exact dates, venues, and kick-off times will be announced as soon as possible following the draw.