UCD claimed the bragging rights – as well as important AIL points – following the latest installment of the Annual Colours clash when they defeated their great rivals Dublin University 17-10 in an exciting game at the Belfield Bowl on Friday night…

Dublin University made the breakthrough after 12 minutes when they turned over a UCD scrum. David Joyce fed Ciarán Wade, who went over unchallenged in the corner and Joyce slotted over the conversion.

The lead didn’t last long however, as a piece of individual brilliance from UCD’s Barry Daly drew the sides level.

After some tidy build-up play, the ball found its way to Daly who evaded four challenges before touching down. James Thornton added the extra points.

UCD began to assert their dominance, and it was man of the match Daly again who did the damage. From out of nothing, he broke the Dublin University line and looped a beautiful pass over to Andy Boyle who dived over the line. Thornton obliged again with the conversion and UCD led 14-7 at half time.

The first score of the second half didn’t arrive until the 60th minute when Dublin University’s Will Scott slotted a penalty.

UCD edged clear deep into the second half with a kicked penalty from Niall Earls and they now climb above Dublin University to second in the table, three points behind leaders Ballynahinch who host bottom club Ballymena on Saturday.

UCD: Andrew Boyle; Sam Coghlan Murray, Alex Kelly, Jordan Coghlan, Barry Daly; James Thornton, Jamie Glynn; James Tracy, Risteard Byrne CAPTAIN, Kieran Moloney, Shane Grannell, Emmet MacMahon, Conor Gilsenan, Mark McGroarty, Eoin Joyce

Replacements: Rory Harrison, David Doyle, Brian Cawley, Rob Shanley, Stephen Murphy, Niall Earls, David Lynch

DUBLIN UNIVERSITY: David Fanagan; Neil Hanratty, Ciaran Wade, Paddy Lavelle, Niyi Adeolokun; David Joyce, Michael McLoughlin CAPTAIN; Ian Hirst, Warren Larkin, Martin Kelly, Colin McDonnell, Jack Kelly, Pierce Dargan, Brian du Toit, Jack Dilger

Replacements: James O’Donoghue, Cathal Marsh, Ariel Robles, Shawn Pittman, Cameron Falcon, Will Scott, Dominic Gallagher

REFEREE: Paul Haycock (IRFU)