CBS Naas 41 The High School 7

It will take a good side to stop CBS Naas from claiming the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Fr Godfrey Cup title based on this quarter-final performance.

They didn’t take long to find their rhythm, wing Eoin Clarke seizing on a loose ball in midfield to put Andrew Osborne away in the third minute.

A hard line from full-back Osborne released centre Charlie Sheridan to the posts, the same man converting.

It was soon extended when prop Adel Mahmoud burst through and Oscar Cawley maintained the attack for Clarke to finish in the corner for 17-0 in 13 minutes.

High School did find an answer when their number eight Marcus Empey blasted over for centre Eli Breen to convert for 17-7 at the interval.

They could not add to that total as Naas added tries by right wing Sam Dunne, centre Cawley, replacements Jack Sheridan and Austin Brennan.

Scorers: High School: C Sheridan try, 3 cons; A Osborne, S Dunne, E Clarke, O Cawley, A Brennan, J Sheridan try each; CBS Naas M Empey try; E Breen con.

Naas: Andrew Osborne (Jack Sheridan 53′); Sam Dunne, Charlie Sheridan, Oscar Cawley, Eoin Clarke; Jack McKevitt (Ethan Travers 38′), Robert Hartnett (Pierce Mooney h-t); Calum Stout, Simon Hughes (Darragh McDonnell h-t), Adel Mahmoud, Paddy McMahon, Brian Doonan (Austin Brennan 56′), Robert Shaw, Mark Alexander, Odhran Kelly (capt).

High School: Matthew Gillis; Daragh McGrath (Jonathan Lees 55′), Luke Hardy (capt), Eli Breen (Jack Barlow 57′), Andrew Browne (Charlie McNamara 57′); Ross Molloy, Andrew Whyte (Charles Beatty 54′); Matteo Sanvito, Louis O’Neill (Eoin Quinn 48′), Ben McClean-Howard, Aidan McNeill (Colm Cooney 55′), Julian Hauxwell, Gowtham Yellapu, Paddy Plockelman, Marcus Empey.

Referee: P Dolan, Leinster Branch.