Clongowes Wood College 38 CUS 10

Clongowes Wood College booked their place in the next round of the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Junior Cup with victory at MU Barnhall today.

CUS, who qualified by way of getting to the final two in the Fr Godfrey Cup, put on a good showing against their Kildare counterparts but Clongowes were able to move up to another level in the second half.

After a scoreless 25 minutes to begin the contest, the game suddenly burst into life when Samuel Pinel ran a strong line to get in under the posts with Ryan Thompson converting.

The Leeson St students hit back quickly however and outhalf Jack Grant put Charlie Costello away in the corner to cut the deficit to two.

The first half wasn’t finished there though and Clongowes had one last chance to claim some breathing room before the break, one they took full advantage of.

Loosehead James Wyse cleverly grounded from close range, dampening CUS spirits right on the whistle.

That strong finish to the first half hour was matched by a powerful second half from Clongowes.

Oscar O’Brien and Pinel both touched down in the third quarter and their cushion was extended to 21 points.

Their fifth try came from a lineout maul, Dan Daly adding his name to the list of scorers.

As the clock ticked down to the hour, both sides picked off one more each.

First, Clongowes’ Pinel completed his hat-trick before Rian Treacy had one last hurrah for CUS who will be comforted by the thoughts of the upcoming Fr Godfrey Cup final against CBS Wexford.

Clongowes Wood College: Samuel Pinel; Ryan Thompson, Oscar O’Brien, Harry Roche Nagle, Kelvin Kiernan; James McNamee, Fiach Devitt; James Wyse, Kosi Ugwueru, Patrick Brophy; Alexander Kelly, Finn McGarry; Matthew Roche Nagle, George Strickland, Dan Daly.

Replacements: Ibai Junttila, Conor Lysaght, Thomas Grehan, Alexander Hemeryck, Marcus Lyons, Alex Cross, Henry McCallum, Padraic Spillane.

CUS : Sean Turner; Leon Kennedy, Charlie Costello, Sean Byrne, Rian Treacy; Jack Grant, Charlie O’Byrne; Enrico Rabbitte, Martin Kane, Conall Lohan Kilraine; Oliver Manks, Dualta Larkin; Cian Brabazon, Hugh Quigley, Lucas Maguire.

Replacements: Conrad Lacken, Harry Doyle, Luka Brennan, James Marson, Niall Cox, Eamon McNicholas, Ruairi O’Tierney, Matthew Clarke.