Clongowes Wood College SJ retained the Powerade Leinster Schools Senior Cup title when they defeated a brave Cistercian College Roscrea 46-15 at the RDS on St. Patrick’s Day…

The Kildare based side were dominant from the off and early tries from scrum-half Conor McQuaid, converted by wing Conor Mahony, after 7 minutes.

Vice captain David Quirke then displayed great attacking prowess with his side’s second effort six minutes, with Mahony again adding the extras as Clongowes’ powerful pack really laid the platform, before the hugely influential back-row Nick McCarthy made it 21-0 by the 24th minute, as Mahony slotted home his third successive three-pointer.

Mahony’s penalty on the stroke of half time made it 24-0 and a heavy defeat looked on the cards, but credit to Roscrea who never gave in and playing their first final since 1999 were rewarded with out-half Bill Duggan’s penalty a minute into the second half.

With their talismanic leader Conor Finn continuing his fine run of form Cistercian looked to gain some more momentum but underage cricketer Jordan Coghlan’s powerful try on 40 minutes made it 31-3 as the consistent Mahony added the extras and Mahony then added his own try on 44 minutes.

Eventually Roscrea’s pressure told and second row Rory Moloney launched a stinging burst which led to his side’s first try of the overcast day. Duggan added the points to make it 36-10, but a late try from Quirke (58), converted by Mahony who would add a 64th minute penalty, sealed the win.

Substitute Jack O’Driscoll’s late try gave some consolation to Roscrea, but it was too little too late and Clongowes were deserving winners on an impressive display.


15: Harry Burns
14: Gareth Murray
13: Jamie Glynn
12: Conor Joyce
11: Conor Mahony
10: David Quirke VICE CAPTAIN
9: Conor McQuaid

1: Gordon Frayne
2: Bryan Byrne
3: Edward Byrne
4: Peadar Timmins
5: Thomas Byrne
6: Nick McCarthy VICE CAPTAIN
7: Conor Gilsenan CAPTAIN
8: Jordan Coghlan


16: Dan O’Byrne
17: Tom Collis
18: Brian Phelan
19: Diarmuid Kennedy
20: Max McFarland
21: Sebastien Fromm
22: Bryan Grehan


15: Philip O’Dwyer
14: Cormac Brennan
13: Shane Layden VICE CAPTAIN
12: Conor Finn CAPTAIN
11: Matt Mellotte
10: Bill Duggan
9: Gareth Gallagher

1: Gearoid Fallon
2: Denis O’Dwyer
3: Craig Farrell
4: Aiden McGrath
5: Rory Moloney
6: Alex Henderson
7: Eamonn Quirke
8: Colin Moloney


16: Oisin Heffernan
17: Sean Moran
18: John Fitzpatrick
19: Ross Enraght Moony
20: Adam Wheatley
21: Maurice Fitzgerald
22: Jack O’Driscoll

REFEREE: Kevin Beggs (Leinster Rugby Referees)