Catholic University School 30 Temple Carrig 7

Catholic University School qualified to meet CBC Monkstown in the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Vinnie Murray Senior Cup final at Donnybrook on Thursday.

It must be stated how Temple Carrig, a school in its’ infancy, does not actually have a sixth year yet and how all of their players, a mix between fourth and fifth years, will be back next season.

The early exchanges were dominated by commitment to contact and the willingness to move the ball into space.

CUS centre Aonghus Brady was prominent whether moving in to tackle or breaking out of defence.

This was countered by Temple’s organized defence, flanker John O’Connor poaching a beauty of a turnover when CUS were on the verge of a breakthrough.

Then, Eoghan Brady shot through a hole to require a textbook tackle from full-back Matthew Ratcliffe-Hudson.

It looked like it would stay scoreless to the break until centre Brady battled through contact for the opening try, converted by David O’Halloran on the half-hour.

It evolved into double trouble for Temple when full-back Vinny Flynn showed a clean pair of heels to all chasers, O’Halloran converting for 14-0 on half-time.

Wing Josh Sproul came to Temple’s rescue when Jake Costello looked bound for the left corner.

It was a temporary solution as replacement David McCormack scored with his first touch of the ball for 19-0 in the 46th minute.

It prompted a piece of balanced running from Temple centre Cian Hingerty that came to nothing.

This did not act as a deterrent, centre Fionn Brauner bursting clear up the left for the quick recycle to put number eight Patrick Kiernan away for a try, converted by Thade Shanahan.

However, CUS had the answer, scrum-half Zach Ryan haring away and openside Barry Mangan getting up in support for a superb try before O’Halloran slotted two late penalties to seal it.

Scorers – CUS: E Brady, V Flynn, D McCormack, B Mangan try each, D O’Halloran 2 pen, 2 cons;Temple Carrig: P Kiernan try, T Shanahan con.

CUS: Vinny Flynn (David McCormack 45′); Tom Brennan, Eoghan Brady (Fionn Jones 62′), Aonghus Brady, Jake Costello; David O’Halloran (capt), Zach Ryan; Callum Clinton (Sean Jaksland 60′), Alex Hegarty (Jack Guinan 60′), Padraig Mongey (Oran Walsh 45′), Martin Healy (Dara Brennan 48′), Michael Barrett, James Byrne (Sean Andrews 62′), Barry Mangan, Ethan Hauer.

Temple Carrig: Matthew Ratcliffe-Hudson; Josh Sproul (Conor Fulham 37′), Fionn Brauner, Cian Hingerty, James Smartt; Thade Shanahan, David Rock (Alexander Daly 60′); Jordon O’Connor, Howard Noonan, Steven Salmon (Cormac Coffey 42′), Joe Barford, Cillian Burke, Elimane Diaw, John O’Connor (Joe McSherry 60′), Patrick Kiernan (capt).

Referee: C Wardrop, Leinster Branch.