Late last month the biggest night of the year was held at CYM – the annual President’s Dinner…

The night was a huge success with nearly 100 guests sitting down to dine, including, for the first time in the club’s 89 year history, members of CYM’s Women’s Team.

Before the formalities kicked off, team photos of both squads were taken on the pitch, with Leinster’s Amlin Challenge Cup and Ireland Women’s Grand Slam Trophy making guest appearances.

Central to the night was the presentation of awards. However, the first award was a sad affair as Alan Egan made a very touching tribute to our departed dear friend and former member, Paddy Clifford, who passed away earlier this year.

Paddy was honoured with a posthumous Honours Cap for this contribution to the club over the years. This was Paddy’s second Honours Cap and was received by his brother in law, John Mitchell, on behalf of the Clifford family.

This presentation was then followed by the Player Awards. Top honours went to Diane McIlhagga and Kev Carty for their outstanding seasons on the pitch. The full list of awards were as follows:

Women’s Team:

Player of the Year – Diane McIlhagga
Back of the Year – Brenda Healy
Forward of the Year – Orla Hayden
Clubwoman of the Year – Jackie Flatley#

Men’s Team:

Player of the Year – Kev Carty
Back of the Year – Joe Heavey
Forward of the Year – Sam Wallis
Clubwoman of the Year – Kelan Daly

Presentations were also made to Dave Kernan and John Conway by the Women’s Captain Diane McIlhagga for their contributions to the Women’s Team’s debut season.

Many thanks to our guest speaker, John Power (Chairman, Metro Area Junior Rugby Committee), and our invited guests, Arthur Fitzpatrick (Vice President Terenure College RFC), Brian Grimson (Vice President St Mary’s RFC), Ray Champion (Metro Area Junior Rugby Committee Member) and Sharon Lynch (Leinster and Ireland No 8), who kindly brought along the Women’s Grand Slam Trophy.

Special thanks to Joe Farinella, Bernard Murray, Alan Egan, Luke Duffy, Darragh Larkin, Kelan Daly and Dave Walsh who helped President Dave Cruddas put the night together.