The Ireland Women’s Squad for the forthcoming Women’s Rugby World Cup in England has been named and includes 11 Leinster players…

The 26 strong squad contains a number of seasoned internationals alongside some newer faces who have emerged this season.

Fiona Coghlan, of recently crowned Women’s All Ireland League and Cup Champions UL Bohemians, will again captain the side as she did during the Six Nations Championship where Ireland finished third for the second year in a row after winning three out of their five games.

Coghlan is joined in the pack by the experienced Orla Brennan and Joy Neville as well as by Mary Louise Reilly and Chris Fanning, who both earned their first caps against Italy earlier this year.

The squad has been boosted by the return of experienced back Lynne Cantwell after a spell living in New Zealand. She is joined in the backs by the likes of Tania Rosser and Shannon Houston as well as the emerging Nora Stapleton, another debutante against Italy this year.

Ireland will open their campaign with a tough encounter against host team and one of the pre-tournament favourites England. The game will be televised live on Sky Sports.

Ireland then play former winners and three time finalists USA in their second game with the final pool game against Kazakhstan four days later. All the pool games are set to be played in the Surrey Sports Camp which will serve as the Rugby World Cup village for all participating teams.

Tickets for the tournament are available on

Ireland Women’s Squad – Women’s Rugby World Cup 2010


Louise Austin (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Orla Brennan (Blackrock/Leinster)
Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemian/Leinster) CAPTAIN

Chris Fanning (Highfield/Munster)
Lauren Day (Cooke/Ulster)
Caroline Mahon (UL Bohemian/Leinster)
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
Joy Neville (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Yvonne Nolan (Blackrock/Leinster)
Kate O’Loughlin (Clonmel/Munster)
Marie Louise Reilly (Navan/Leinster)
Sinead Ryan (Blackrock/Leinster)

Carol Staunton (Galwegians/Connacht)

BACKS (12):

Louise Beamish (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Niamh Briggs (Clonmel/Munster)
Helen Brosnan (Highfield/Munster)
Lynne Cantwell (UL Bohemian)
Amy Davis (Blackrock/Leinster)
Eliza Downey (Cooke/Ulster)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Joanne O’Sullivan (Richmond/Exile)
Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Leinster)
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


England Women v Ireland Women, Surrey, Friday August 20th, 18:30
USA Women v Ireland Women, Surrey, Tuesday, August 24th, 16:30
Ireland Women v Kazakhstan, Surrey, Saturday, August 28th, 16:30