There are four changes to the Ireland squad that will travel to South Africa for a three test tour this month.

Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney, Johnny Sexton and Rob Kearney have been ruled out of the tour due to injury.

Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney and Sexton picked up injuries in last Saturday’s Guinness PRO12 final.

The IRFU have confirmed that Fitzgerald sustained a knee ligament injury, Kearney picked up a calf strain and Sexton injured his shoulder which has resulted in the player undergoing a minor procedure this week.

Rob Kearney pulled up in training yesterday and a subsequent scan has shown a hamstring strain that will rule him out of the tour.

Ian Madigan has been called up to replace Sexton, while Ulster’s Craig Gilroy, and Connacht’s Matt Healy and Tiernan O’Halloran have also been called up.

The squad departs for South Africa on Sunday, 5th June, and will play Tests in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth. Ireland last toured South Africa in 2004.

All three Tests will be broadcast live on SKY Sports. Visit for all the latest news, images and videos from Ireland’s Tour of South Africa.

Ireland Squad (2016 Summer Tour of South Africa)

Forwards (18)

Finlay Bealham (Corinthians/Connacht)
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) CAPTAIN
Sean Cronin (St Marys/Leinster)
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) Vice-captain

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Jack McGrath (St Marys/Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Sean Reidy (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht)*
Rhys Ruddock (St Marys/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
CJ Stander (Munster)
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Backs (14)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)
Matt Healy (Connacht)*
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster)
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Tiernan O’Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht)*
Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Jared Payne (Ulster)
Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)


Ireland Summer Tour 2016 Fixtures

South Africa v IRELAND
Saturday, 11th June
DHL Newlands Stadium KO 17:00 (16:00 GMT)

South Africa v IRELAND
Saturday, 18th June
Emirates Airline Park KO 17:00 (16:00 GMT)

South Africa v IRELAND
Saturday, 25th June
Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium KO 17:00 (16:00 GMT)