This one started at a rate of knots. Pres centre Scott Howard shook the ball free in contact and CBC scrum-half forced a fumble out of Sean Daly.

Monkstown kept their first real attack alive with offloading and centre Cameron Watson found space on the outside for the first try, converted by James Reynolds.

Captain Eoghan Clarke was twice involved in the build-up to the second, crashing through the last tackle for a 12-point start in as many minutes.

Vinnie Murray Cup Eoghan Clarke

Pres almost found the answer as scrum-half Elliott Ryan, prop Keld Sredojevic and wing Samuel O’Dowd went close before centre Aaron Walsh knocked on in the act of grounding the ball.

CBC moved into their stride with devastating effect, the service of scrum-half Shane O’Hanrahan and ball skills of Watson setting wing Conor Newman free for try number three, converted by Reynolds in the 23rd minute.

Pres were able to trouble the scoreboard from a Ryan penalty to make it 19-3 at the break.

They needed more than that to make a game of it.

Vinnie Murray Cup

Their forwards edged the third quarter and Ryan was given quick ball to work from.

Their three-quarters just couldn’t prise open the disciplined CBC defence, although wing Noah Cummins threatened down the right.

It was put to bed when Reynolds’s footwork paved the way to his try which the full-back converted in the 59th minute.

Pres never stopped coming and replacement scrum-half Ben Murphy sniffed out a try on foot of good work by full-back Mark Myler.

At Donnybrook – CBC Monkstown 26 (J Reynolds try, 3 cons; E Clarke, C Watson, C Newman try each); Pres Bray 8 (B Murphy try; E Ryan pen).


CBC: James Reynolds; Conor Newman, Cameron Watson, Darragh Foster, Luke Sweeney; Sean Power, Shane O’Hanrahan; Max Read, Mark Theunissen, Callum Kavanagh, Eoin Vaughan, Gavin Tinney, Robert Doyle, Zach Sattar, Eoghan Clarke (capt).

Replacements: Conor Byrne for Tinney 29 mins – temp; Robert Ivers for Tinney 44 mins; Geoff Mahon for Power 47 mins; Luke Hallam for Theunissen, Harry Shaw for Newman both 56 mins; Cian Tallon for Sweeney, Conor Byrne for Sattar, Jonathan Browne for Kavanagh, Kenzi Kouadi for Read all 62 mins.

Pres: Mark Myler; Noah Cummins, Scott Howard, Aaron Walsh, Samuel O’Dowd; Michael O’Gara, Elliott Ryan; Ben Brady, Tom Harbinson, Keld Sredojevic, Liam Lupton-Smith, Alan Douglas, Jack McGrath, Joe McLaughlin, Sean Daly (capt).

Replacements: Sam Graham for Brady 23 mins; Darren Magee for Lupton-Smith 56 mins; Ben Murphy for Ryan 62 mins; Ben Carolan for Harbison, Niall Groves for Douglas both 64 mins; Andrew Peakin for O’Gara 66 mins.

Referree: J Fitzgerald, Leinster Branch.

Leinster v Montpellier