Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has selected the 23-man squad that will play the Māori All Blacks in the opening game of the tour of New Zealand on Wednesday morning.

The Leinster trio of Ciarán Frawley, Jimmy O’Brien and Joe McCarthy are all named to start and earn their first Irish caps.

Jimmy O’Brien starts at full-back with Jordan Larmour and Keith Earls on the wing.

Bundee Aki captains the side from inside centre. He will partner James Hume who will wear the number 13 jersey.

Ciarán Frawley starts his first Ireland game at out-half and will be joined in the half-backs by Munster’s Craig Casey.

Jeremy Loughman, Dave Heffernan and Tom O’Toole make up the Ireland front row.

Joe McCarthy will join Kieran Treadwell in the second row.

The back row is made up of Cian Prendergast, Nick Timoney and Gavin Coombes.

Leinster also have three representatives on the bench as Cian Healy, Ryan Baird and Jack Conan are all set for action.

Ireland team to face Maori All Blacks:

15. Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas) uncapped
14. Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 30 caps
13. James Hume (Ulster/Banbridge) 3 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 37 caps CAPTAIN
11. Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 96 caps
10. Ciaran Frawley (Leinster/Skerries) uncapped
9. Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 5 caps

1. Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen) uncapped
2. Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 6 caps
3. Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 2 caps
4. Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 5 caps
5. Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin University) uncapped
6. Cian Prendergast (Connacht) uncapped
7. Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 2 caps
8. Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) 2 caps


16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 20 caps
17. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 116 caps
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 23 caps
19. Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 8 caps
20. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 27 caps
21. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 96 caps
22. Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 32 caps
23. Michael Lowry (Ulster/Banbridge) 1 cap