Rory Best will captain the side on his 101st cap for Ireland and is joined in the front row by Tadhg Furlong and Jack McGrath. Wexford native Furlong will be making his first 6 Nations start at tight head.

Lansdowne FC club man Devin Toner is partnered by Iain Henderson in the second row with CJ Stander, Sean O’Brien and Jamie Heaslip named in the back row. Heaslip has also been confirmed as Ireland vice-captain for the tournament.

Conor Murray and Paddy Jackson are the half-back combination with an all-Leinster centre pairing in Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose, with Ringrose making his first 6 Nations start in the number 13 jersey. To date this season the pair have played at 12 and 13 together on eight occasions in blue.

Rob Kearney is named at fullback for his 73rd cap with Simon Zebo and Keith Earls on the wings.

The uncapped Niall Scannell is named on the bench which also includes Cian Healy, John Ryan, Ultan Dillane and Josh Van der Flier as forwards cover.

Kieran Marmion, Ian Keatley and Tommy Bowe are named as the replacement backs.

Ireland Team and Replacements (v Scotland, RBS 6 Nations Championship, Saturday 4th February, BT Murrayfield)

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 72 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 54 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 3 caps
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 24 caps
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 28 caps
10. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 19 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 53 caps

1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s/Leinster) 36 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 100 caps captain
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 11 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 28 caps
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 42 caps
6. CJ Stander (Munster) 10 caps
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 44 caps
8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 91 caps vc

16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)*
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 62 caps
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 1 cap
19. Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 8 caps
20. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 9 caps
22. Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 4 caps
23. Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 67 caps

*Denotes uncapped player