Voted for by rugby fans on Twitter and guests at the World Rugby Awards, Heaslip’s score for Ireland was named the IRPA (International Rugby Players’ Association) Try of the Year 2016 with a 57 per cent share of the 16,000 votes cast. The try began deep in Ireland’s own 22 with the ball going through numerous pairs of hands before the number eight, up in support, had the strength to power over the line.

The other nominees were Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland) and TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina).

Heaslip took to social media at the end of the night to thank supporters and his Ireland teammates: “Delighted to win this @worldrugby try of the year award on behalf of the @irishrugby lads! Every great try tends to be a great team try, I was just happy to be on the end of this one! Thanks to everyone who voted!”

Full list of World Rugby Awards winners

World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year – Beauden Barrett, New Zealand
World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year – Sarah Hunter, England
World Rugby Team of the Year – New Zealand
World Rugby Coach of the Year – Steve Hansen, New Zealand
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year – Maro Itoje, England
World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC – Seabelo Senatla, South Africa
World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC – Charlotte Caslick, Australia
World Rugby Referee Award – Alhambra Nievas, Spain, and Rasta Rasivhenge, South Africa
Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Syd Millar
Award for Character – Rugby Opens Borders, Austrian Rugby Union
IRPA Special Merit Award – Jean de Villiers, South Africa
IRPA Try of the Year – Jamie Heaslip, Ireland
Special recognition of Olympic Games success: Australia’s women and Fiji’s men

For more details on the World Rugby Awards, visit