Blackrock College 48 Terenure College 0

Justin Vanstone’s Blackrock College eased their way to the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Senior Cup semi-final, putting eight tries on Terenure College at Energia Park.

The Williamstown school were keen to demonstrate a leap in performance from the first round.

It would take time to break down a defence in which Ultan Byrne, captain Darragh Brooks and second row Cuan Doyle were quick to hit hard.

Blackrock’s recycling was fast and ferocious, the metres gained were racked on the back of centre Luke Kritzinger’s delicious pass, hooker Gus McCarthy eventually smashing through for the opening try in the seventh minute.

Blackrock disrupted a lineout in dangerous territory soon after, centre Kritzinger the last man on the ball for the second try in the 12th minute.

Terenure had to have decent territory to make a case for a comeback. They just weren’t able to stitch together the phases to make Blackrock think about anything other than attack, Paddy McCarthy charging for the third try, converted by Zach Quirke for 17-0 in the 15th minute.

The next quick movement of ‘Rock was started and finished by centre Hugh Cooney, Gus McCarthy playing his part, in the fourth try.

Terenure centres Matthew Vaughan and Yago Fernández-Vilar did what they could to stabilise the defence, wing James Clarke a threat with precious little ball.

‘Rock were coming onto the ball from all angles, the McCarthys, Gus and Paddy, always available and Cooney guiding a nice kick to keep Terenure on their heels.

The skills of Paddy McCarthy and the speed of the ruck almost opened the door for No 8 Kevin Jackson to go close and Alex Mullan to complete the attack for Quirke to convert.

A step from Fernandez-Vilar lifted Terenure’s supporters only for Gus McCarthy to claim a turnover penalty, preserving a 29-point lead at the break.

At this point, it was all about damage limitation for Terenure, the malfunction of their lineout fed the beast.

Blackrock were composed in how they went through the phases, Gus McCarthy breaking the gain line and Cooney’s hard-line doing the trick for the sixth try.

Terenure were in a deep hole there was no getting out of, despite the thumping presence of flanker Daragh Brooks, Hugh Cooney almost connecting with Will Fitzgerald.

The patterns were pretty as backs and forwards blended the play well enough for Fitzgerald to squeeze over for Quirke to convert for 43-0 in the 47th minute.

‘Nure just couldn’t generate enough momentum, even though Ben Nolan showed up well off the bench.

The intervention of Matthew Lydon at the breakdown and the non-stop attitude of Cuan Doyle in the engine room was apparent.

‘Rock were nearly in again when Krtizinger floated a left-to-right pass for O’Shaughnessy. It was merely a temporary reprieve, Cooney central to Eoghan Walsh flying into the left corner in the 62nd minute.

A snappy tap-and-go by full-back Jim Kennedy and quick carry by Matthew Lydon had Blackrock scrambling.

A penalty accrued and Sean Keegan’s throw was on the money, Ben Nolan inching forward and Doyle’s reach was not long enough to make the line.

They just didn’t have the tools to get in for a consolation.

Scorers – Blackrock College: H Cooney two tries; G McCarthy, L Kritzinger, P McCarthy, A Mullan, E Walsh, W Fitzgerald try each; Z Quirke 3 cons; O Coffey con.

Blackrock College – Ruben Moloney; Andrew Quinn (Paddy van Zuydam h-t), Hugh Cooney, Luke Kritzinger, Eoghan Walsh; Zach Quirke (Conor O’Shaughnessy 59), Oliver Coffey (Will Fitzgerald 42); Max Holmes (Cian O’Brien 55), Gus McCarthy (capt) (Mikey Yarr 59), Paddy McCarthy (Andreas Andersson 47); Tom Brigg,  Alex Mullan; Liam Molony (Conor Tonge 51), Inigo Cruise-O’Brien, Kevin Jackson (Jack Angulo 59).

Terenure College – Jim Kennedy; Regan Gallagher (Tom Murray 50), Matthew Vaughan, Yago Fernández Vilar, James Clarke; Jack Grimes (Harvey O’Leary 44), Cillian Keaney (Peter McNamara 44);  Alex Cashman (Matthew Lydon h-t), Keith Byrne (Sean Keegan 58), Tim Staunton (Josh Delaney 44); Cuan Doyle, Oisin Shannon; Darragh Brooks (capt), Seán Ruane, Ultan Byrne (Ben Nolan 10).

Referee – Nigel Correll