Ireland ‘A’ ran out comfortable 31-0 winners over the Argentina Jaguares in the historic first rugby international to be held at Tallaght Stadium on Friday evening…

Tries from Ryan Caldwell, Ian Dowling, Leinster’s John Fogarty and two from Johne Murphy – with Ian Humphreys chipping in with three conversions – ensured a comfortable win for the home side in West Dublin.

Leinster trio Fergus McFadden, Mike Ross and Fogarty impressed for the home side. With Ireland gaining dominance up front, McFadden played a starring role in setting up Ireland ‘A’ with their second try through Dowling after 28 minutes by making a powerful break in midfield to set up the Munster winger.

In the 43rd minute Leinster hooker Fogarty crashed over to score after a spell of frenetic pressure close to the Argentinean line.

The Jaguares, who included former Leinster prop Juan Gómez in their starting line-up, rarely threatened to score in a largely one-sided affair in front of a crowd of 4,016.

IRELAND ‘A’: Felix Jones; Ian Dowling, Fergus McFadden, Keith Matthews, Johne Murphy; Ian Humphreys, Isaac Boss; Brett Wilkinson, John Fogarty, Mike Ross, Ryan Caldwell, Mick O’Driscoll CAPTAIN, Donnacha Ryan, Niall Ronan, John Muldoon

REPLACEMENTS: Ian Keatley for Matthews (36 mins), Andy Kyriacou for Fogarty, Ed O’Donoghue for Caldwell (both 63), Bryan Young for Wilkinson, Chris Henry for Muldoon (both 68), Frank Murphy for Boss, Denis Hurley for Dowling (both 70)

ARGENTINA JAGUARES: Belisario Agulla; Francisco Merello, Matías Viazzo, Miguel Avramovic, Tomás De Vedia; Santiago González Iglesias, Martín Landajo; Juan Gómez, Álvaro Tejeda, Gastón De Robertis, Tomás Roan, Mariano Galarza, Agustín Guzmán, Leonardo Senatore CAPTAIN, Benjamín Macome

REPLACEMENTS: Francisco Albarracin for Landajo (55 mins), Matias Nahuel Chaparro Tetaz for Gomez, Rodrigo Bruno for Macome (both 62), Matias Cortese for Tejeda (64), Ignacio Pasman for Roan, Gabriel Ascarate for Viazzo, Nicolas Sanchez for Gonzalez Iglesias (all 73)

REFEREE: Peter Allan (Scotland)