The Ireland Men’s and Women’s Sevens Squads have been named to take park in the II Toreno Internacional Rugby 7s Tournament in Alicante in Spain this weekend.

The men’s squad will be captained by Tom Daly from the Leinster Academy, while Rathdrum’s Lucy Mulhall will captain the women.

The men’s side will play Spain, Portugal and France, while the women’s side play England, Spain, Portugal, France and Spain Development.
Speaking ahead of the tournament, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Rugby Sevens, “Last season we achieved two key objectives, the women qualified for the World Series and the men moved up to Division A in Europe.
Both squads are in contention for Olympic qualification this season and we’re taking another step along that road in Spain at the weekend.
The two squads have been working hard in the off season so this tournament is a good chance to get back on the field and measure our progress.”
Ireland Men’s Sevens, Il Toreno Internacional Rugby 7s Tournament. Alicante, Spain. 13th-14th November

Cian Aherne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Alan Bennie (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)  
Aaron Cairns (Ballynahinch Ulster)
Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster) CAPTAIN
Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
Matthew D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)  
Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)  
Terry Kennedy (St Mary’s/Leinster)  

Gearoid Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)
Matthew O’Regan (Macclesfield/Exiles)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Leinster)  
Nick Timoney (Queens University/Ulster)
Ireland Men’s Sevens Fixtures (All Times are local)

Friday, 13th November

17.20     Spain v Ireland
18.40     Ireland v Portugal
Saturday, 14th November

11.20     France v Ireland
12.40     Playoffs
Ireland Women’s Sevens, Il Toreno Internacional Rugby 7s Tournament. Alicante, Spain. 13th-14th November

Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Megan Williams (St Mary’s)         
Audrey O’Flynn (Sevens)             
Emma Murphy (Railway Union/Leinster)
Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)

Claire Keohane (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster) CAPTAIN
Eimear Considine (Sevens)         
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Munster)
Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe (St Mary’s/Munster)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
Ireland Women’s Sevens Fixtures (All times are local)

Friday 13th November

16.20     Portugal v Ireland
18.00     Ireland v England
19.20     Spain v Ireland
Saturday 14th November

10.00     Spain Development v Ireland
11.40     Ireland v France
13.20     Play-offs