The Ireland team has been confirmed to face Russia in their third pool game of the Rugby World Cup at the Kobe Misaki Stadium on Thursday morning (11.15 Irish time).

Johnny Sexton returns to the lineup as captain having missed the defeat to Japan where he is partnered by clubmate Luke McGrath at half back.

Garry Ringrose and Bundee Aki are named in the centre with Rob Kearney at full back. He’s supported on the wings by Andrew Conway and Keith Earls.

The back row sees Jordi Murphy at No 8 alongside Peter O’Mahony and Rhys Ruddock.

Tadhg Beirne and Jean Kleyn are named at lock with Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and John Ryan all coming into the front row.

Ireland team to play Russia

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 93 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 16 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 26 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 21 caps
11. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 79 caps
10. Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster) 85 caps CAPTAIN
9. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 16 caps

1. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 33 caps
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 17 caps
3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 20 caps
4. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 10 caps
5. Jean Kleyn (Munster) 3 caps
6. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 24 caps
7. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 61 caps
8. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 29 caps


16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 71 caps
17. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 20 caps
18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 38 cap
19. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 50 caps
20. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 35 caps
21. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 20 caps
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 9 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 18 caps