Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has named his match-day squad for Sunday’s Six Nations third round match against Italy in Rome.

There are seven Leinster players named in the 23, with five of those in the starting XV.

Sean Cronin comes in to the front row for his first Six Nations start in place of Rory Best where he will be joined by Tadhg Furlong and Dave Kilcoyne.

Connacht duo Quinn Roux and Ultan Dillane are in the second row.

Munster’s Peter O’Mahony captains the side in Best’s absence with Sean O’Brien and Jordi Murphy joining him at the back of the scrum.

Conor Murray is at scrum-half where he will be partnered by Jonathan Sexton.

The back five remains unchanged with Rob Kearney at full back, Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings and Bundee Aki and Chris Farrell in the centre.

Ireland take on Italy on Sunday at 3pm in Stadio Olimpico, Rome.

Ireland squad v Italy – Guinness Six Nations 2019
15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 88

14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 74
13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 4
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 14
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 16
10. Jonathan Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 80 (vice-capt)
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 69

1. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 26
2. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 67
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 30
4. Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 12
5. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 10
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 54 (capt)
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 54
8. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 26

16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 11
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 53
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 16
19. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 42
20. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 15
21. John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 6
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
23. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 10

*denotes uncapped player