The 28-man Ireland U20 squad for this summer’s World Rugby U20 Championship will be captained by Gorey’s Paul Boyle.

Boyle featured for Leinster U20 earlier in the season and also played for the Leinster ‘A’ team in the British & Irish Cup.

In total there are 14 Leinster players named in the squad, several of whom also have ‘A’ team experience.

There are some new faces in the squad, with U19 players Jordan Duggan, Angus Curtis, David McCarthy, Alan Tynan and Michael Sylvester all being named.

Jack Kelly

On confirmation of the squad head coach Peter Malone said:

“It’s an exciting time for these players, as they will all be experiencing a World Championship for the first time. It’s a great opportunity for them, to go out and pit themselves against their peers from around the world.

“We’ve lost a number of players who were involved during the Six Nations through injury, so it’s very unlucky for those guys not to be involved, but it gives other players the chance to wear the green jersey on the world stage.

“We’re in a really strong pool with Italy and Scotland who made us work really hard for wins during the Six Nations, and then New Zealand who will have a number of players back from last year’s tournament so they will be a huge test for us.”

Ireland will open their campaign against Six Nations rivals Italy on Wednesday, 31st May, in the Kutaisi Stadium. They will then meet Scotland on Sunday, 4th June, and their final Pool B game takes place against New Zealand, who Ireland defeated for the first time during last year’s Championship, on Thursday, 8th June.

Ireland U-20 Squad (World Rugby U20 Championship 2017)


Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC/Leinster) Captain
Charlie Connolly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Joey Conway (UL Bohemians RFC/Munster)
Gavin Coombes (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster)*
John Foley (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Ronan Kelleher (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Greg McGrath (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Marcus Rea (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Jack Regan (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster RFC/Munster)


Angus Curtis (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)*
Conor Dean (UCD RFC/Leinster)*
Ciaran Frawley (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Colm Hogan (Dublin University FC/Munster)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
David McCarthy (Garryowen FC/Munster)*
Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)
Jack Stafford (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Jonathan Stewart (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster)*
Alan Tynan (Young Munster/Munster)*

Unavailable due to injury:

Cillian Gallagher
Bill Johnston
Jordan Larmour
Johnny McPhillips
Tommy O’Brien

Ireland U20 World Rugby U20 Championships Fixtures

Pool B

Ireland v Italy
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi
Wednesday, 31st May, 2017
KO: 3.30pm (local) / 12.30pm (Irish)

Ireland v Scotland
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi
Sunday, 4th June, 2017
KO: 1.00pm (local) / 10am (Irish)

Ireland v New Zealand
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi
Thursday, 8th June, 2017
KO: 3.30pm (local) / 12.30pm (Irish)


Avchala Stadium OR Mikheil Meskhi Stadium
Tuesday, 13th June 2017


Avchala Stadium OR Mikheil Meskhi Stadium
Sunday, 18th June 2017

Ireland’s Pool B fixtures will be shown live on Eir Sport.
The tournament will also be shown on ITV and streamed via World Rugby.