There are four changes to the Ireland team to face Japan this Saturday at the 2019 Rugby World Cup (Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa, Saturday, KO 4.15pm local time/8.15am Irish time).

Rob Kearney returns from injury to be named at full-back with Jordan Larmour moving to the bench. Keith Earls starts on the right wing in place of Andrew Conway. Jacob Stockdale completes the back three.

Garry Ringrose is joined in the centre by Chris Farrell, who comes in for Bundee Aki.

Jack Carty starts alongside Conor Murray, replacing Johnny Sexton.

The pack remains unchanged with Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong packing down either side of captain Rory Best.

Iain Henderson will win his 50th cap for Ireland and he is again partnered with James Ryan. Henderson won his first cap against South Africa in 2012.

Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander form an unchanged back-row.


15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 92 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 78 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 25 caps
12. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 8 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 22 caps
10. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 8 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 75 caps
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 92 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 121 caps CAPTAIN
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 37 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 49 caps
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 20 caps
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 60 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 20 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 34 caps


16. Seán Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 70 caps
17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 32 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 19 caps
19. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 9 caps
20. Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 23
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 15 caps

22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 19 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 17 caps