The Ireland team to play France on Sunday in the first RBS 6 Nations Championship game at Aviva Stadium (KO: 3pm) has been named…

Ireland Coach Declan Kidney has made one change to the team that started against Italy last Saturday with Jamie Heaslip named at Number 8.

Sean O’Brien moves to blindside and Denis Leamy is named in the replacements in place of Shane Jennings. David Wallace completes the back row.

Ireland Captain Brian O’Driscoll is in touching distance of yet another milestone – the Championship try scoring record that has stood since 1933. O’Driscoll is one try short of equalling Ian Smith’s record.


15: Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
14: Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13: Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) CAPTAIN
12: Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

11: Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)
10: Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
9: Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster)

1: Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2: Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
3: Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4: Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5: Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
6: Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
7: David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
8: Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)


16: Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17: Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
18: Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
19: Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
20: Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21: Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
22: Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)