Gordon D’Arcy has been named in the Ireland team to face Scotland for Saturday’s RBS Six Nations clash in Murrayfield (KO: 5.30pm)…

D’Arcy starts his first game for Ireland in over a year after being named in the centre in place of Paddy Wallace, who moves to the replacements. Scrumhalf Peter Stringer takes up the No.9 jersey after swapping places with Tomas O’Leary who started the games against France, Italy and England.

The other two changes to the Ireland side are in the pack. In the front row, Rory Best is named at hooker with Jerry Flannery taking Best’s position among the replacements. Denis Leamy, who came on in place of Jamie Heaslip during the England game, is picked to start the game at No.8 with Heaslip backing up from the bench.

The game will also be landmark for Ireland tight head prop John Hayes who will become the most capped Irish player of all time with 93 caps to his name, overhauling fellow Ireland squad member Malcolm O’Kelly’s previous record.

SCOTLAND: Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Simon Danielli (Ulster) Max Evans (Glasgow), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow), Thom Evans (Glasgow), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Mike Blair (Edinburgh) CAPTAIN; Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Northampton), Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh), Jason White (Sale), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), John Barclay (Glasgow), Simon Taylor (Stade Francais)

REPLACEMENTS: Dougie Hall (Glasgow), Moray Low (Glasgow), Nathan Hines (Perpignan), Scott Gray (Northampton), Chris Cusiter (Perpignan), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh)


15: Rob Kearney (UCD – Leinster)
14: Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13: Brian O’Driscoll (UCD – Leinster) CAPTAIN
12: Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne – Leinster)
11: Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College – Leinster)

10: Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution – Munster)
9: Peter Stringer (Shannon – Munster)

1: Marcus Horan (Shannon – Munster)
2: Rory Best (Banbridge – Ulster)
3: John Hayes (Bruff- Munster)
4: Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution – Munster)
5: Paul O’Connell (Young Munster – Munster)
6: Stephen Ferris (Dungannon – Ulster)
7: David Wallace (Garryowen – Munster)
8: Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution – Munster)


16: Jerry Flannery (Shannon – Munster)
17: Tom Court (Malone – Ulster)
18: Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution – Munster)
19: Jamie Heaslip (Naas – Leinster)
20: Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin – Munster)
21: Paddy Wallace (Ballymena – Ulster)
22: Geordan Murphy (Leicester)