The Ireland U20 team to face France U20 on Friday, 12th February in Narbonne has been named.

Head coach Nigel Carolan has made several changes to the side that lost to Wales in Donnybrook last Friday night.

In the backs, UCD’s Hugo Keenan, who started on the wing last week, moves to full-back in place of the injured Jack Power.

Conor O’Brien (Clontarf), who won his first cap from the bench last week, will start on the wing, and St.Mary’s and Ireland Sevens player Terry Kennedy will look to win his first U20s cap from the bench.

Up front, prop Conor Kenny (Buccaneers) takes the place of Sligo’s Conán O’Donnell, who moves to the replacements.

Cork Con’s Dan Walsh, who will win his first U20 cap, comes straight into the back-row for the injured Will Connors.

Speaking ahead of the side departing for France, Carolan said:

“We were disappointed with how things went against Wales. I thought that we played well overall but mistakes proved costly in the end. We’ve hopefully addressed the key areas and we’ll be looking for an improved performance on Friday night.

“Our training sessions this week have been very positive and the players are looking forward to the game in Narbonne. If we can maximise on our opportunities, I’d be confident of a result against the French.”

Ireland U20 side v France U20 (Stade d’Honneur du Parc des Sports et de l’Amitié, Narbonne, Friday, 12th February, KO 9.05pm)
15. Hugo Keenan (UCD / Leinster)
14. Matthew Byrne (Terenure / Leinster)

13. Shane Daly (Cork Con / Munster)
12. Jimmy O’Brien (UCD / Leinster)
11. Conor O’Brien (Clontarf / Leinster)

10. Johnny McPhillips (QUB / Ulster)
9. John Poland (Cork Con / Munster)
1. Andrew Porter (UCD / Leinster)
2. Adam McBurney (Ballymena / Ulster)
3. Conor Kenny (Buccaneers / Connacht)
4. Peter Claffey (Galwegians / Connacht)
5. James Ryan (Lansdowne / Leinster) Captain
6. Cillian Gallagher (Sligo / Connacht)
7. Dan Walsh (Cork Con / Munster)*
8. Max Deegan (Lansdowne / Leinster)

16. Shane Fenton (Young Munster / Munster)
17. James Bollard (Dublin University / Leinster)
18. Conán O’Donnell (Sligo / Connacht)
19. Sean O’Connor (Cashel / Munster)
20. Kelvin Brown (Shannon / Munster)
21. Stephen Kerins (Sligo / Connacht)
22. Brett Connon (Newcastle Falcons)
23. Terry Kennedy (St.Mary’s / Leinster)*
*Denotes Uncapped at this level
Not Considered

Jack Power (UCD/Leinster) – injured
Will Connors (UCD/Leinster) – injured

Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins / Ulster) – involved with Ulster (Pro 12)
Robert Lyttle (Queens University / Ulster) – involved with Ulster (Pro 12)