Ireland face Italy in their opening game of Pool B on Wednesday, 31st May, at 3.30pm local time (12.30pm Irish time).

Ireland U20 Coach, Peter Malone, has named two players in the opening side who are uncapped at this level. Conor Dean has been named at out-half and Diarmuid Barron has been named at hooker.

In the backs, Jonny Stewart will partner Dean at half-back.

Jack Kelly has been named at full-back, with Colm Hogan and Calvin Nash named on the wings. Gavin Mullin and Ciaran Frawley team up again in the centre.

Up front, Barron will join Joey Conway and Charlie Connolly in the front row with Fineen Wycherley and Oisin Dowling named in the second row.

Marcus Rea, Paul Boyle and Gavin Coombes are named in the back row.

Ireland’s Pool B fixtures will be shown live on Eir Sport. The tournament will also be shown on ITV and streamed via the World Rugby website.

Ireland U20 team to play Italy U20 (Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi, Wednesday, May 31, 3.30pm local time/12.30pm Irish time)

15. Jack Kelly (Dublin University/ Leinster)
14. Colm Hogan (Dublin University/ Munster)
13. Gavin Mullin (UCD/ Leinster)
12. Ciaran Frawley (UCD/ Leinster)
11. Calvin Nash (Young Munster / Munster)
10. Conor Dean (St. Mary’s/ Leinster) *
9. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University/ Ulster)
1. Joey Conway (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
2. Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen/ Munster) *
3. Charlie Connolly (Dublin University/ Leinster)
4. Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster/ Munster)
5. Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne/ Leinster)
6. Marcus Rea (Queen’s University/ Ulster)
7. Paul Boyle (Lansdowne/ Leinster) Captain
8. Gavin Coombes (Young Munster/ Munster)


16. Ronan Kelleher (UCD/ Leinster)
17. Greg McGrath (Lansdowne/ Leinster)
18. Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/ Ulster)
19. Jack Regan (UCD/ Leinster)
20. Sean Masterson (Corinthians/ Connacht)
21. Jack Stafford (Shannon/ Munster)
22. Angus Curtis (Queen’s University/ Ulster) *
23. Alan Tynan (Young Munster/ Munster) *

*Denotes uncapped at this level.

Ireland World Rugby U20 Championship Fixtures

Pool B:

Ireland v Italy
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi, Wednesday, 31st May, 3.30pm local time/12.30pm Irish time

Ireland v Scotland
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi, Sunday, 4th June, 1pm local time/10am Irish time

Ireland v New Zealand
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi, Thursday, 8th June, 3.30pm local time/12.30pm Irish time

Avchala Stadium or Mikheil Meskhi Stadium, Tbilisi, Tuesday, June 13

Avchala Stadium or Mikheil Meskhi Stadium, Tbilisi, Sunday, June 18