Ireland U20 will face Samoa U20 in the semi-finals of the 9th-place play-off at the Avchala Stadium in Tbilisi, with a 1pm (local time)/10am (Irish time) kick-off.

Speaking at the captain’s run in Tbilisi, head coach Peter Malone said:

“Things didn’t go to plan in the pool stages, but now it’s about digging deep and looking to get a result against Samoa.
“That’s not going to be easy as they caused problems for their opposition throughout their pool games and we know they’re going to be very physical.
“The players know what lies ahead tomorrow and they’re very focused, and really up for this game.”

The match will be broadcast live by Eir Sport, and it will be available to watch via in certain countries.

Ireland U20 (caps in brackets)

15. Alan Tynan (Young Munster/Munster) (3)
14. Michael Silvester (Dublin University/Leinster) (2)
13. Gavin Mullin (UCD/Leinster) (5)
12. Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster) (8)
11. Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster) (6)
10. Conor Dean (St. Mary’s/Leinster) (3)
9. Jack Stafford (Shannon/Munster) (4)
1. Jordan Duggan (Naas/Leinster) (2)
2. Ronan Kelleher (UCD/Leinster) (6)
3. Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) (4)
4. Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster) (7)
5. Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne/Leinster) (7)
6. Gavin Coombes (Young Munster/Munster) (6)
7. Paul Boyle (Lansdowne/Leinster) (7) CAPTAIN
8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) (7)


16. Adam Moloney (Shannon/Munster) (4)
17. Joey Conway (UL Bohs/Munster) (7)
18. Charlie Connolly (Dublin University/Leinster) (8)
19. Jack Regan (UCD/Leinster) (8)
20. John Foley (Shannon/Munster) (2)
21. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University/Ulster) (8)
22. David McCarthy (Garryowen/Munster) (1)
23. Mark Keane (Instonians/Ulster)* (0)

*Denotes uncapped at this level

Ireland World Rugby U20 Championship Fixtures & Results

Pool B

Ireland 21 – 22 Italy
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi, and Wednesday, May 31.

Ireland 28 – 32 Scotland
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi, Sunday, June 4

Ireland 3 – 69 New Zealand
Kutaisi Stadium, Kutaisi, Thursday, June 8

9th Place Semi-Final

Ireland v Samoa
Avchala Stadium, Tbilisi, Tuesday, June 13, 1pm (local time) / 10am (Irish time)


Avchala Stadium, Tbilisi, Sunday, June 18