The Ireland Under-20 side to face France in the fifth place play off of the IRB Junior World Championship in Stade Henri Desgrange, La Roche-sur-Yon on Tuesday (KO: 7.15pm Irish time) has been named and includes 9 Leinster players in the panel…

The Ireland management have made a number of changes to the side that lost out, 31-26 to New Zealand in their final pool game of the tournament.

Leinster scrum-half Luke McGrath leads the team and is one of 6 Leinster starters in the XV.

Ulster’s Rory Scholes takes up the full back position while Alex Wootton makes his first start of the tournament joining Darren Sweetham on the wing.

In the forwards, Bryan Byrne starts at hooker with Sean McCarthy coming in to partner John Donnan in the second row and Ryan Murphy starts at number 8.


15: Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins /Ulster)
14: Darren Sweetnam (UCC/Munster)
13: Thomas Farrell (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12: Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
11: Alex Wootton (Northampton Saints/ Exile)
10: Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9: Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) CAPTAIN

1: Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2: Bryan Byrne (UCD/Leinster)

3: Christopher Taylor (Malone/Ulster)
4: Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster)
5: John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6: Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster)
7: Josh Van Der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
8: Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster)


16: George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons/Exile)
17: Edward Byrne (UCD /Leinster)
18: Adam Boland (Lansdowne/Connacht)
19: Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
20: Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster)
21: David Shanahan (Clontarf/Leinster)
22: Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Connacht)
23: David Panter (Corinthians/Connacht)