The Ireland Under-20 team (sponsored by PwC) to play France in Dubarry Park on Friday night (KO: 7.45pm, LIVE RTE2) has been named by Coach Mike Ruddock…

Ruddock has made eight changes to the squad which beat Italy in the opening game of the 6 Nations Championship.

The changes include five new faces in the starting XV and three new players in the replacements.

Michael Sherlock comes in at full back with Tiernan O’Halloran, a member of last year’s squad named on the wing. Nathaniel McDonald comes in at centre to partner Alex Kelly.

A new look back row sees David Heffernan start at blindside with Aaron Conneely coming off the bench to openside and Jordi Murphy moving to number 8. David O’Mahony makes a start in the second row alongside local boy Daniel Qualter.

Shane Buckley, James McKinney and JJ Hanrahan are included on the bench.


15: Michael Sherlock (Clontarf – Leinster)
14: Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians – Connacht)
13: Alex Kelly (UCD – Leinster)
12: Nathaniel McDonald (Exile)
11: Andrew Boyle (UCD – Leinster)
10: Patrick Jackson (Dungannon – Ulster)
9: Blane McIlroy (Ballymena – Ulster)

1: James Tracy (UCD – Leinster)
2: Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
3: Conor Carey (Ballymena – Ulster)
4: David O’Mahony (UCC – Munster)
5: Daniel Qualter (Buccaneers – Connacht)
6: David Heffernan (Lansdowne – Connacht)
7: Aaron Conneely (Corinthians – Connacht)
8: Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne – Leinster)

16: David Doyle (UCD – Leinster)
17: Finlay Bealham (Exile)
18: Iain Henderson (Queens – Ulster)
19: Shane Buckley (Garryowen – Munster)
20: Peter Du Toit (UCD – Leinster)
21: James McKinney (Queens – Ulster)
22: JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians – Munster)