The Ireland Women’s team to play Scotland in the RBS 6 Nations Championship on Saturday in Lasswade RFC, Edinburgh (KO: 2pm) has been named by Head Coach Philip Doyle…

Doyle has made a number of changes to the side that lost out 12-14 to France in the last round of the championship.

Two players have been promoted from the bench, Leinster’s Emer McManamly makes a start in the front row while Heather O’Brien comes into the in the second row to partner Marie-Louise Reilly. Laura Guest moves from the second row to the back row.

Lauren Day and Carol Staunton have been named in the replacements.

Ireland Coach Philip Doyle said: “We came very close to a win against France, but in the end they held out. We can take a lot of positives from that performance with us to Scotland.”

“The mood in the camp is upbeat and there is a sense of desire to deliver a performance in what will be another tough encounter against Scotland.”


15: Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
14: Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13: Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile)
12: Geraldine Rea (Highfield/Munster)
11: Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemians/Munster)
10: Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9: Amy Davis (Blackrock/Leinster)

1: Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) CAPTAIN
2: Gillian Bourke (Bristol/Munster)
3: Emer McManamly (Blackrock/Leinster)
4: Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)
5: Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6: Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
7: Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8: Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)


16: Stacey Kennedy (City of Derry/Ulster)
17: Lauren Day (Waterloo/Ulster)
18: Deirdre O’Brien (Blackrock/Leinster)
19: Carol Staunton (Galwegians/Connacht)
20: Larissa Muldoon (UWIC/Exile)
21: Gill Nolan (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
22: Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Leinster)