James Ryan, Jordan Larmour, Cian Healy, James Lowe, Rhys Ruddock and James Tracy are all among the nominees for the Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards.

One of the biggest nights in Irish sport, the Irish Rugby Players Awards will take place on Wednesday, 15 May, at the Clayton Hotel in Ballsbridge.

James Ryan is one of four nominees for the Players’ Player of the Year award, an honour he received last Sunday at the Leinster Rugby Awards Ball.

Ryan is joined on the shortlist by Munster Rugby teammates Peter O’Mahony and Tadhg Beirne, as well as Connacht’s Jack Carty.

“It’s an honour to be nominated by my fellow players for the 2019 Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award,” Ryan said when the nominations were announced.

“Pete, Tadhg and Jack have all enjoyed excellent campaigns and it has been a pleasure to share time with them in Irish camp. We have had some fantastic moments this year including that unforgettable win over the All Blacks in Dublin, but we have also learned many lessons along the way. It’s important to recognise and celebrate achievement but we’re also looking forward to some important games in our season still to come.”

It has been a memorable year for Ryan who has also been nominated for the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year Award alongside Leinster teammate Jordan Larmour. Larmour is also nominated for the Volkswagen Try of the Year Award for his third score against Italy in Chicago.

Rhys Ruddock and James Tracy have both been nominated by their peers for the Vodafone Medal for Excellence, an award presented to the individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the game of rugby both on and off the field.

Rugby fans across Ireland can also choose the Virgin Media Sport Supporters’ Player of the Year 2019 which has been running across Virgin Media Sport’s coverage of the Champions Cup, with Cian Healy, James Lowe and James Ryan all in contention.

It has been a competitive year for the Irish Women’s XV who have displayed some valiant team performances, however, there were several standout performers who have duly come into contention for the BNY Mellon Women’s XV Player of the Year 2019 as voted by the players involved over the last 12 months: Anna Caplice, Eimear Considine and Ciara Griffin.

The iZest Women’s 7s Player of the Year will also be awarded on the night, with previous winners Lucy Mulhall (2018) and Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (2016 & 2017) included on the shortlist alongside Louise Galvin. A new award will also see theMen’s 7s Player of the Year recognised. Jordan Conroy, Terry Kennedy and Adam Leavy have all the way to World Series qualification for the side.

Members of the public are also encouraged to get involved by nominating their Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort Moment of the Year 2019 via Twitter @druidsglen, using #DruidsMoment19.


Players’ Player of the Year

Tadhg Beirne
Jack Carty
Peter O’Mahony
James Ryan

Women’s XVs Player of the Year

Anna Caplice
Eimear Considine
Ciara Griffin

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year

Jordan Larmour
James Ryan
Jacob Stockdale

Try of the Year

Keith Earls  (Ireland v France, Guinness Six Nations)
Jordan Larmour (Ireland v Italy #3, The Rugby Weekend, Chicago)
Jacob Stockdale (Ireland v New Zealand, Guinness November Series)

Supporters’ Player of the Year

Will Addison
Tadhg Beirne
Jack Carty
Cian Healy
James Lowe
James Ryan

Moment of the Year

Voted by the public on Twitter using #DruidsMoment19, the Rugby Moment of the Year will be unveiled at the Awards ceremony on Wednesday 15th May 2019.

Medal for Excellence

Darren Cave
Rhys Ruddock
James Tracy

Women’s 7s Player of the Year

Louise Galvin
Lucy Mulhall
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe

Men’s 7s Player of the Year

Jordan Conroy
Terry Kennedy
Adam Leavy