Ahead of the Captain’s Run in UCD later this afternoon Leinster Rugby Head Coach Leo Cullen has announced the Leinster XV to take on Toulon in Pool 5 of the Champions Cup on Sunday (Kick Off: 3.15pm Irish time and live on SKY Sports and RTE Radio). 

With last weekend’s game against the Glasgow Warriors falling victim to the elements and to Storm Desmond, the starting XV has a number of changes to the team that played against Ulster in the RDS two weeks ago. 

In the backs Fergus McFadden, Rob Kearney and Isaac Boss come in while in the pack it’s a completely new front row. 

Kearney starts at full back for only his second game this season for the province since starting against Scarlets in the Guinness PRO12 in early November. Fergus McFadden and captain Isa Nacewa have scored 81 points between them this season including four tries and start on the right and left wing respectively. 

Luke Fitzgerald and Ben Te’o start in the centre with Isaac Boss partnering Johnny Sexton in the half backs. 

Up front it’s as you were in the back row with Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier and Jamie Heaslip named to start. It will be van der Flier’s first start for Leinster in the Champions Cup having impressed off the bench against Bath in Round 2, scoring a try in the process, and when starting against Ulster last time out in the PRO12.

The second row is also unchanged from the Ulster game with Devin Toner partnering Mike McCarthy who makes his 59th appearance for Leinster but 299th senior club appearance in total.

Finally the front row sees a new combination of Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross line up against the reigning European champions. 

Ten of the starting XV also started in last season’s agonising 25-20 semi-final extra time loss to Toulon in Marseille.


15. Rob Kearney
14. Fergus McFadden
13. Ben Te’o
12. Luke Fitzgerald 
11. Isa Nacewa CAPTAIN
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Isaac Boss
1. Cian Healy
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Mike Ross
4. Devin Toner
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jamie Heaslip 

16. Sean Cronin
17. Jack McGrath 
18. Marty Moore
19. Tom Denton
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Eoin Reddan
22. Ian Madigan
23. Dave Kearney 

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Touch Judge 1: Gwyn Morris (Wales)
Touch Judge 2: Wayne Davies (Wales)
TMO: Derek Bevan (Wales)
Citing Commissioner: John Byett (England)