There was a lot to like about this eight-try win – and a lot to fear for those left in the competition.

It all began in the first minute when left wing Luke Sonilenla simply sizzled home from halfway.

The Marble city kids didn’t have to wait too long to follow up. Hooker Stephen Grey and full-back Mark Braithwaite both showed strength in contact to make the line.

Just when Hos,’ admirably led by captain Ruadhan McDonnell and flanker Charles Flynn, seemed to have stemmed the tide, Kilkenny picked off two more tries from flanker Stuart Dudley and right wing Tamalori Awonusi to move 33 points clear.

Wilson’s did go to the break with the benefit from a penalty by full-back Richard Gill in what must have been little comfort.

The second-half saw three more tries for Kilkenny as prop David Young, Awonusi and replacement Evan Stephenson all broke through for out-half Josh Miller to make seven of eight conversions.

Kilkenny College rugby


At Donnybrook – Kilkenny College 54 (T Awonusi 2 tries; S Dudley, L Sonilenla, S Gray, D Young, E Stephenson, M Braithwaite try each; J Miller 7 cons); Wilson’s Hospital 3 (R Gill pen).

Kilkenny: Mark Braithwaite; Tamalori Awonusi, Andrew Ross, Jason Rothwell, Luke Sonilenla; Josh Miller (capt), Luke Kerr; David Young, Stephen Gray, Owen Edgehill, Gavin Parr, Sam Smith, Stuart Dudley, Andrew Florio, Reuben Pim.

Replacements: Ben O’Sullivan for Rothwell, John Rogers for Sonilenla, Evan Stephenson for Kerr all 55 mins; Charlie Buckley for Gray, Clifford Neale for Young, Andrew Warner for Smith, Cian West for Florio all 62 mins; Daniel Thompson for Dudley 68 mins.

Wilson’s: Richard Gill; Zach Meehan, Andrew McDunphy, Stuart Greene, Patrick Power; Sam Murphy, Robert Shaw; Jonathan Charles, Conor Craig, Josh Anidi, Joe Higgins, Franklin Obiekwe, Alex Kenny, Charles Flynn, Ruadhan McDonnell (capt).

Replacements: Alan Mills for Charles ht; Eoin Molloy for Meehan 56 mins; Guglilmo Caridi for McDunphy 62 mins; Barry Sullivan for Mills, Ross Crowe for Shaw, Evan Hales for Power all 67 mins;

Referee: J le Lievre, Leinster Branch.