Leinster will take on Ulster Rugby in Navan RFC in our only home pre-season game on Friday, 23 September.

Tickets for the game can be bought here.

This isn’t the first time that sides have met in a pre-season friendly. In fact, it isn’t the first time the sides have met in Navan RFC.

We can take a look back at the last time the sides met in the County Meath venue in August 2016.

In front of nearly 4,000 supporters, Leinster Rugby ran out 31-14 winners with a squad that included four players who are now with Ireland squad at the Rugby World Cup.

Jack Conan, Ross Byrne, Josh van der Flier and an uncapped Andrew Porter all played for Leinster Rugby that day.

With Leo Cullen having a squad mixed with internationals and a number of exciting young players at his disposal, we may see some more future internationals lining out in Navan this year.

On that summers day in 2016, it was a tight first half that saw Leinster lead 14-7 at the break. Dan Leavy powered over for the opening try with Jack Conan finishing a fine team move started by Rory O’Loughlin.

There were 12 changes made at the break by Leo Cullen with internationals like Zane Kirchner, Fergus McFadden and Josh van der Flier entering the contest.

A yellow card for Ian Nagle on his first outing with Leinster meant that Fergus McFadden acted as an impromptu flanker at scrum-time.

Ulster drew level at 14 points each after Robert Lyttle touched down in the corner with 65 minutes gone.

While Ulster now had the momentum, it was Leinster who ultimately discovered an extra gear in the closing stages.

A well-executed attack on the left was finished off by the industrious Josh Murphy with ten minutes to go.

An unconverted try from McFadden in the 79th minute placed the result beyond any doubt.

A fifth try by Adam Byrne subsequently put the icing on the cake, and Carbery was also successful with the final conversion for Leinster.

Leinster Rugby:
15. Niall Morris (Billy Dardis, half-time)
14. Adam Byrne (Fergus McFadden, half-time)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (Zane Kirchner, half-time)
12. Tom Daly
11. Barry Daly (Adam Byrne, 70)
10. Ross Byrne (Joey Carbery, half-time)
9. Nick McCarthy (Luke McGrath, half-time) (Charlie Rock, 80))
1. Peter Dooley (Andrew Porter, half-time)
2. James Tracy (Bryan Byrne, half-time)
3. Michael Bent (Vakh Abdaladze, half-time)
4. Ross Molony (Ian Nagle, half-time)
5. Hayden Triggs (Ross Molony, 54) (Dominic Ryan, 80))
6. Dominic Ryan (Sean McNulty, 21) (Josh Murphy, half-time))
7. Dan Leavy (Josh van der Flier, half-time)
8. Jack Conan CAPTAIN (Peadar Timmins, half-time).

Replacements not used: Cathal Marsh.

Ulster Rugby:
15. Louis Ludik
14. David Busby
13. Mark Best
12. Sam Windsor CAPTAIN,
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Brett Herron
9. Dave Shanahan
1. Kyle McCall
2. Johnny Murphy
3. Johnny Simpson
4. Alan O’Connor
5. John Donnan
6. Stephen Mulholland
7. Nick Timoney
8. Matthew Rea.

Replacements: John Andrew, Zack McCall, Rodney Ah You, Andrew Warwick, Michael Lagan, Ross Kane, Connor Smyth, Alex Thompson, Clive Ross, Conall Boomer, Robert Lyttle, Conor Kelly, Rory Butler, Johnny McPhillips, Andrew Magrath, Angus Lloyd, Aaron Cairns.