Leinster lifted the Heineken Cup with a thrilling 19-16 victory over the Leicester Tigers at Murrayfield on Saturday evening…

Ben Woods’ try had given two-time champions Leicester an interval lead, but Jamie Heaslip’s brilliant score helped level matters before the excellent Johnny Sexton sealed victory with a long-range penalty.

Sexton also dropped a monster drop-goal, Brian O’Driscoll dropped a goal as well, while Julien Dupuy kicked the Tigers’ other points.

TIGERS SCORERS: B. Woods (1 try), J. Dupuy (3 penalties, 1 conversion)

LEINSTER SCORERS: J. Heaslip (1 try), J. Sexton (2 penalties, 1 drop goal, 1 conversion), B. O’Driscoll (1 drop goal)

LEICESTER TIGERS: G Murphy CAPTAIN; S Hamilton, A Erinle, D Hipkiss, A Tuilagi; S Vesty, J Dupuy; M Ayerza, G Chuter, M Castrogiovanni, T Croft, B Kay, C Newby, B Woods, J Crane

REPLACEMENTS: B Kayser, J White, L Deacon, L Moody, H Ellis, M Smith, J Murphy


15: Isa Nacewa
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Luke Fitzgerald
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Chris Whitaker

1: Cian Healy
2: Bernard Jackman
3: Stan Wright
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Malcolm O’Kelly
6: Rocky Elsom
7: Shane Jennings
8: Jamie Heaslip


16: John Fogarty
17: Ronan McCormack
18: Devin Toner
19: Sean O’Brien
20: Simon Keogh
21: Rob Kearney
22: Girvan Dempsey

REFEREE: Nigel Owens (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Nigel Whitehouse (WRU), Hugh Watkins (WRU), 4th OFFICIAL: Christophe Berdos (FFR), 5th OFFICIAL: Andy McPherson (ARU), TMO: Tim Hayes (WRU)