Girvan Dempsey has named the Leinster ‘A’ team to face Plymouth Albion in the opening match of the British & Irish Cup title defence.

Tom Denton will captain the ‘A’ team and is joined in the second row by UCD RFC’s Gavin Thornbury. The ‘A’ team front row will be propped up by Brian McGovern and Oisin Heffernan, and Sean McCarthy starts at hooker. Leinster ‘A’ will face his McCarthy’s former team Jersey RFC next weekend in Donnybrook.  

Jordan Coghlan starts in the back row for Leinster ‘A’ for the second game in a row. The versatile 21-year-old also slotted in at centre during last weekend’s friendly match in Donnybrook against Munster ‘A’. He will be flanked in the back row by Ben Marshall and Peadar Timmins. 

Nick McCarthy and Ross Byrne are the two starting half-backs for the ‘A’ team’s opening Pool 5 match. Both players are in their first year with the Leinster Academy and are just 19 years old. 

Steve Crosbie, who made his first appearance for the senior team in the win over Scarlets in the RDS in September, will start at inside centre with Rory O’Loughlin alongside him in midfield.

Cian Kelleher, a try-scorer in Leinster’s pre-season friendly against Northampton Saints, starts at full-back. Sam Coghlan Murray and Adam Byrne complete the back three.
The A team face Plymouth Albion in Brickfields tomorrow at 3pm.

Follow Leinster on Twitter to receive score updates from the game

Leinster ‘A’

15. Cian Kelleher
14. Sam Coghlan Murray
13. Rory O’Loughlin
12. Steve Crosbie
11. Adam Byrne
10. Ross Byrne
9. Nick McCarthy
1. Brian McGovern
2. Sean McCarthy
3. Oisin Heffernan
4. Tom Denton CAPTAIN
5. Gavin Thornbury
6. Ben Marshall 
7. Peadar Timmins
8. Jordan Coghlan


16. James Tracy
17. Ivan Soroka
18. Ross Molony
19. Josh Murphy
20. Adam Griggs
21. Tom Farrell
22. Billy Dardis